|  RSS

PC World Forums: Improfile.net virus making its rounds through MSN messenger - PC World Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Improfile.net virus making its rounds through MSN messenger

#1 User is offline   yeokm1 Icon

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 476
  • Joined: 18-August 06
  • Location:Singapore

Posted 03 February 2007 - 07:34 PM

If you are using MSN messenger whether Live or older versions, please read this.If while you have been chatting with friends and recieve a link such as this link:http://improfile.net/members.php?msn=yournickname@hotmail.com Do not click on it. The link leads to a website. For IE users, IE will download the virus automatically and infect your system. For Firefox users, you may recieve a confimation box asking for your permission to download the payload. Do not download the file. It appears as a DOS script.The virus changes your homepage, blocks msconfig and regedit, and sends the link to people in your address book.
0

#2 User is offline   TheNameless Icon

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 785
  • Joined: 05-August 06
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 03 February 2007 - 07:46 PM

Thanks for the heads up.
0

#3 User is offline   techie4fun Icon

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,828
  • Joined: 18-October 06

Posted 15 February 2007 - 06:08 AM

A good post for all users of MSN messenger. Will be on the watch.Thanks.
0

#4 User is offline   yeokm1 Icon

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 476
  • Joined: 18-August 06
  • Location:Singapore

Posted 16 February 2007 - 08:04 AM

It seems this virus gives variable web addresses.I received this link from my friend whose computer was infected. Don't click on it of course! I have removed the http:/ to prevent such accidents from happening./ratemynuts.net/nuts.php?msn=mynickname@hotmail.comWhatever it is, do not click on any links carelessly without verifying whether is safe to do so.
0

#5 User is offline   KellieCM Icon

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,411
  • Joined: 27-June 07
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 15 March 2007 - 08:47 AM

Is this still an ongoing threat that needs to be stuck on top, or can we un-stick this thread and let it roam free?
0

#6 User is offline   Cosmo Icon

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,990
  • Joined: 27-July 06
  • Location:Someplace Evil

Posted 15 March 2007 - 05:13 PM

It's older news, so we can let it roam free.More info:MSN MessengerFanaticLIVE
0

#7 User is offline   maximumca Icon

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 13-April 07

Posted 13 April 2007 - 06:39 PM

Just today, I became infected with this virus despite running a very dependable anti-virus program. Don't let down your guard even though the link you receive will be from someone you know. Does anyone know of a fix for this virus yet?
0

#8 User is offline   Cosmo Icon

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,990
  • Joined: 27-July 06
  • Location:Someplace Evil

Posted 13 April 2007 - 07:29 PM

If you need the removal tool, click on "Removal Tool" in my previous post.
0

#9 User is offline   SpiritWind Icon

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,888
  • Joined: 19-August 06

Posted 13 April 2007 - 11:04 PM

{size:18px}[/size]:D Hi all : This primarily appears to be a "trojan", NOT a "virus" . Some companies appear to be calling it "Spy.vb.lo" ; would recommend you run any antiSPYWARE/antiTROJAN program(s), like AVG Antispyware from www.ewido.net and/or the Free version of SUPERantispyware from www.superantispyware as a 1st try at getting rid of it. Those programs MAY find other malware as well .
0

#10 User is offline   maximumca Icon

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 13-April 07

Posted 14 April 2007 - 03:46 AM

I've tried downloading the removal tool mentioned and my anitvirus BitDefender is identifying it as possible virus or malware. How can I be sure it's legit? BitDefender is not picking up the worm on my system. I've written their support people.
0

#11 User is offline   Cosmo Icon

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,990
  • Joined: 27-July 06
  • Location:Someplace Evil

Posted 14 April 2007 - 03:41 PM

I've removed the removal tool on suspicion of malware. I'll decompile it and have a looksee to see if it is malware. This may take a while, ASM isn't a strong point of mine.In the mean time, I suggest getting NOD32 as an antivirus, as they are the best pay antivirus available.
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users