PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Anybody Have A Fairly Powerful, 32-bit Pc Running Xp? - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Anybody Have A Fairly Powerful, 32-bit Pc Running Xp?

#1 User is offline   LincolnSpector 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,611
  • Joined: 16-October 06

Posted 21 March 2011 - 04:08 PM

Hi, folks.

I'm wondering if any of you have a 32-bit PC running XP--one powerful enough to upgrade to Windows 7. I need some tests for an Answer Line blog test, and I don't have the hardware to do them myself.

I'm looking for someone who can run two free, safe, and downloadable programs for me: Securable and the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor, and send me screen captures of both of them.

In the case of the Advisor, I need two screen captures: One with the 32-bit tab and the other with the 64-bit one.

If you like, you can mail the images directly to me at answer@pcworld.com.

Thanks,

Lincoln
0

#2 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 21 March 2011 - 04:37 PM

My eMachines ( see signature ) will handle Windows 7. It was Vista capable out of the box before I upgraded everything in it. I'll see what I can do when I hook it up ( it is sitting on the floor next to me at the moment ).
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#3 User is offline   Win7boy 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 414
  • Joined: 31-January 10

Posted 21 March 2011 - 05:00 PM

I have a XP box that has 1GB RAM,80GB HDD,P4 HT,HPdc7600.Will that work???
Desktop: Antec 1200,i7 4770k,2x2TB WD Black,240GB Corsair SSD,128GB Samsung 840 Pro,2x Sapphire Radeon Toxic 6GB 7970's,16GB Gskills 1600Mhz RAM,Corsair AX1200,Asus Z87 Pro Mobo,120hz QX2710 1440p monitor
Laptop:Samsung Series 7 Chronos,2x Dell inspirons
Samsung Galaxy Note 3,32GB,3GB RAM,And 100% AOSP Goodness
New nexus 10...soon....(once google announces it)
0

#4 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 21 March 2011 - 05:08 PM

I have a Pentium 4 (3.2GHz), 1GB RAM system that I can use. The complete specs:
XP Home SP3, Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz HT (probably northwood, not positive) 1GB DDR(1), 160GB IDE HD, ATI 9100 integrated graphics. This PC is from 2004; it's a Shuttle XPC minicube, I forget the model number.

Also, Lincoln, what do you mean the 32-bit and the 64-bit tabs? I don't see anything like that.

Attached thumbnail(s)

  • Attached Image: SecurAble.PNG
  • Attached Image: upgrade advisor.png

This post has been edited by LiveBrianD: 21 March 2011 - 05:48 PM

Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#5 User is offline   Win7boy 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 414
  • Joined: 31-January 10

Posted 21 March 2011 - 05:14 PM

Here are my results for the machine I stated above:
Attached Image: Securable.JPG

Windows Upgrade Advisory wouldn't work.It said to download the .NET framework and when I already had .NET 4.0. I also had already .NET framework 2.0 installed.Any solutions?
Desktop: Antec 1200,i7 4770k,2x2TB WD Black,240GB Corsair SSD,128GB Samsung 840 Pro,2x Sapphire Radeon Toxic 6GB 7970's,16GB Gskills 1600Mhz RAM,Corsair AX1200,Asus Z87 Pro Mobo,120hz QX2710 1440p monitor
Laptop:Samsung Series 7 Chronos,2x Dell inspirons
Samsung Galaxy Note 3,32GB,3GB RAM,And 100% AOSP Goodness
New nexus 10...soon....(once google announces it)
0

#6 User is offline   Win7boy 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 414
  • Joined: 31-January 10

Posted 21 March 2011 - 05:35 PM

View PostLiveBrianD, on 21 March 2011 - 05:08 PM, said:

I have a Pentium 4 (3.2GHz), 1GB RAM system that I can use. When do you need the pics by?


Same here with the specs. :D
Desktop: Antec 1200,i7 4770k,2x2TB WD Black,240GB Corsair SSD,128GB Samsung 840 Pro,2x Sapphire Radeon Toxic 6GB 7970's,16GB Gskills 1600Mhz RAM,Corsair AX1200,Asus Z87 Pro Mobo,120hz QX2710 1440p monitor
Laptop:Samsung Series 7 Chronos,2x Dell inspirons
Samsung Galaxy Note 3,32GB,3GB RAM,And 100% AOSP Goodness
New nexus 10...soon....(once google announces it)
0

#7 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 22 March 2011 - 08:01 AM

Hey Lincoln, I am going to try to attach both reports. Probably a bit more than you need.

Posted Image

Attached File(s)


Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#8 User is offline   LincolnSpector 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,611
  • Joined: 16-October 06

Posted 22 March 2011 - 08:31 AM

View PostLiveBrianD, on 21 March 2011 - 05:08 PM, said:

I have a Pentium 4 (3.2GHz), 1GB RAM system that I can use. The complete specs:
XP Home SP3, Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz HT (probably northwood, not positive) 1GB DDR(1), 160GB IDE HD, ATI 9100 integrated graphics. This PC is from 2004; it's a Shuttle XPC minicube, I forget the model number.

Also, Lincoln, what do you mean the 32-bit and the 64-bit tabs? I don't see anything like that.

Thanks, Brian. These are exactly what I need.

To be honest, since I didn't have a 32-bit PC running XP to test this on, I had no idea if there would be a 64-bit tab on it or not. When I ran this on my test PC (a 64-bit processor, but running 32-bit XP), it gave me separate 32-bit and 64-bit tabs. That appears to be a sign that you can install 64-bit Windows on it.

Much appreciated.

And thanks as well to everyone else who offered to help.

Lincoln


0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users