Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Windows 7 And Hp Jetdirect Printing

#1 User is offline   therrmann 

• Pip
  • Group: New Member

Posted 04 April 2011 - 10:17 AM

I have a home network consisting of 4 XP computers and a JetDirect 500X box with an HP LJ 6P attached, and all devices can print just fine. I'm trying to put a Windows 7 box on the network so it can print as well. All appears to be well -- no problems using the network, I can install the printer, put it on the correct JetDirect port, etc -- but when I go to print, nothing happens except for a "Printer Error" message. I've tried everything I know to get this to work or to find a solution, but I've had no luck. Any idea what's going on here?

I'm a pretty technical person (I'm a systems admin for a large school district) and know my way around computer very well, but this has stumped me. We're new to Win7, so is there something I'm missing here?

Any help would be appreciated...

#2 User is offline   ElfBane 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 04 April 2011 - 10:50 AM

View Posttherrmann, on 04 April 2011 - 10:17 AM, said:

I have a home network consisting of 4 XP computers and a JetDirect 500X box with an HP LJ 6P attached, and all devices can print just fine. I'm trying to put a Windows 7 box on the network so it can print as well. All appears to be well -- no problems using the network, I can install the printer, put it on the correct JetDirect port, etc -- but when I go to print, nothing happens except for a "Printer Error" message. I've tried everything I know to get this to work or to find a solution, but I've had no luck. Any idea what's going on here?

I'm a pretty technical person (I'm a systems admin for a large school district) and know my way around computer very well, but this has stumped me. We're new to Win7, so is there something I'm missing here?

Any help would be appreciated...

Is your Win7 32 or 64 bit?