PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Broadband Performance With Comcast 6 Mbps Vs 12 Mbps - PCWorld Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Broadband Performance With Comcast 6 Mbps Vs 12 Mbps

#1 User is offline   Bill45 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 30 April 2011 - 01:50 PM

I have been using Comcast 12 mbps internet service for a little over 2 yrs. Now I see I can save
$10/mo by switching to 6 mbps. Can any statement be made as to the difference I might see in my
computer's online performance if I did switch from 12 to 6? My computer is a Dell Inspiron 530.

Thank you!

#2 User is offline   AgentF 

• PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 30 April 2011 - 03:08 PM

Other than the obvious speed decrease by around half, you'll likely have a decrease in monthly bandwidth. Bandwidth is data transfer and includes both downloading data from the Internet and uploading data to it. ISPs typically keep information concerning bandwidth on the down low. They're more interested in showing you connection speed and price. Ask Comcast what the difference in bandwidth between the two plans and also get an idea of how much bandwidth you use monthly. It's likely to be in the Gigabyte range.
Would you be interested in contributing to the PCWorld Wiki?

Learn how to edit pages and even create new ones.

#3 User is offline   Bill45 

• PipPip

Posted 01 May 2011 - 12:02 AM

View PostAgentF, on 30 April 2011 - 03:08 PM, said:

Other than the obvious speed decrease by around half, you'll likely have a decrease in monthly bandwidth. Bandwidth is data transfer and includes both downloading data from the Internet and uploading data to it. ISPs typically keep information concerning bandwidth on the down low. They're more interested in showing you connection speed and price. Ask Comcast what the difference in bandwidth between the two plans and also get an idea of how much bandwidth you use monthly. It's likely to be in the Gigabyte range.