This post has been edited by QueenPendragon: 18 May 2011 - 09:31 PM
Facebook Security Issue,virus And Scans
#1
Posted 18 May 2011 - 09:04 PM
#2
Posted 19 May 2011 - 08:17 AM
QueenPendragon, on 18 May 2011 - 09:04 PM, said:
Hi, queen. What program warned you about this? If it wasn't Avast, I'd be extremely skeptical. Sounds to me like a Rogue, trying to trick you into downloading some malware.
Lincoln
#3
Posted 19 May 2011 - 08:17 AM
http://novabench.com/image/266589.png
______________________________________________________________
Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
#4
Posted 19 May 2011 - 08:29 AM
LincolnSpector, on 19 May 2011 - 08:17 AM, said:
QueenPendragon, on 18 May 2011 - 09:04 PM, said:
Hi, queen. What program warned you about this? If it wasn't Avast, I'd be extremely skeptical. Sounds to me like a Rogue, trying to trick you into downloading some malware.
Lincoln
It was Facebook itself, unless it's one of those redirect phony site things. I did verify Facebook's partnering with McAfee but still am suspicious. However, even my phone login attempt said to go to a PC and follow the directions.
#5
Posted 19 May 2011 - 10:53 AM
As Lincoln said, sounds like a "Rouge" is trying to
get you to download "it" . Unless it is a very new or
modified version of an "old" Rouge, the Malwarebytes
Anti-Malware scan ( hopefully their "Full" scan )
implies it did not get into your computer . By
visiting Avast's "Viruses and Worms" Support Forum,
I see you wisely started a thread there and "Pondus"
has replied to both your Posts . The "Helpers" on the
Avast Forums should be the most knowledgeable in this
particular quest for info .
#6
Posted 19 May 2011 - 12:18 PM
[img width=800 height=500]http://i11.photobuck...untitled5-1.jpg[/img][img width=800 height=500]http://i11.photobuck...2/untitled2.jpg[/img]
[img width=800 height=500]http://i11.photobuck...2/untitled3.jpg[/img]
[img width=800 height=500]http://i11.photobuck...2/untitled4.jpg[/img]
[img width=800 height=500]http://i11.photobucket
#7
Posted 19 May 2011 - 12:53 PM
How facebook detects or thinks you have a virus, that is a complete mystery. You may just have run into a glitch in the system.
Keep us posted!
#8
Posted 19 May 2011 - 02:24 PM
#9
Posted 19 May 2011 - 02:59 PM
Need a Windows ISO image?
#10
Posted 19 May 2011 - 03:08 PM
LiveBrianD, on 19 May 2011 - 02:59 PM, said:
I think they got suspicious, or their PCs did, 'cause I had both my accounts (one is a gaming account) open at once, one on IE and one on Firefox. They must have saw the same IP address and thought it was like something a zombie computer would do or something. Even so, my other account still works. I will keep emailing them, I mailed them again today.
This post has been edited by QueenPendragon: 19 May 2011 - 03:08 PM
#11
Posted 19 May 2011 - 04:45 PM
#12
Posted 20 May 2011 - 06:55 AM
QueenPendragon, on 19 May 2011 - 04:45 PM, said:
OK, I used my old laptop to get my account restored...it doesn't actually try to download the full McAfee security suite, although I still know enough to run a full scan if the time comes I ever have to use the thing again (it needs serious updating anyway, since I haven't used it since March). I'm more sure now that the roadblock is legit, but they seriously do need to rethink their approach.
My last question still stands...can I be reasonably confident my current machine is okay or are there any final steps to take?
#13
Posted 02 June 2011 - 01:16 PM
QueenPendragon, on 20 May 2011 - 06:55 AM, said:
QueenPendragon, on 19 May 2011 - 04:45 PM, said:
OK, I used my old laptop to get my account restored...it doesn't actually try to download the full McAfee security suite, although I still know enough to run a full scan if the time comes I ever have to use the thing again (it needs serious updating anyway, since I haven't used it since March). I'm more sure now that the roadblock is legit, but they seriously do need to rethink their approach.
My last question still stands...can I be reasonably confident my current machine is okay or are there any final steps to take?
Hi, Queen. What's happening with this at this point? Can you access Facebook on the "infected" PC?
Lincoln
Help
















