PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Sony Online Entertainment Phising Email. - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Sony Online Entertainment Phising Email.

#1 User is offline   WhiteCat 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 14-February 10

Posted 01 June 2011 - 08:32 AM

I just received an email from "Sony on-line Entertainment" asking that I reset my password for my account with them following the recent restoration of their on-line system.

"We are pleased to confirm that our services are now back online and more secure. We deeply regret the inconvenience this cyber attack has caused.
We take this issue extremely seriously and want to assure you that the protection of the data you have entrusted to us is of the utmost priority. As a result, we require that you reset your Station Account password as an added security measure, and recommend that you do this immediately if you have not done so already." [password reset Button]

As I do not have an account, and never have, it may be a Phising scam, designed to get hold of my data (should I have had an account for them to get hold of in the first place.)

Just a "For Information" post.
0

#2 User is offline   crazy4laptops 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,118
  • Joined: 20-November 07
  • Location:Austria

Posted 01 June 2011 - 08:55 AM

Hey WhiteCat!

Can you post a screenshot of the message with the full email header so that I can attempt to identify the sender?

If you don't have a Sony account, but don't worry with it and mark as spam after the screenshot, but thanks for the heads up!
Even the experts started out as beginners
0

#3 User is offline   AgentF 

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 856
  • Joined: 22-March 10
  • Location:localhost

Posted 01 June 2011 - 11:33 AM

The solution to these is pretty simple: Ignore the links provided therein. If you want to change your account details, go to the website yourself. If the email is legitimate, you'll likely see a similar security message on the service's website. It's just like when "your credit card company" calls you. To verify, call the number on the back of your card instead.

People will take every possible advantage to scam, including present day world events.
Would you be interested in contributing to the PCWorld Wiki?

Learn how to edit pages and even create new ones.
0

#4 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 19,699
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 01 June 2011 - 01:16 PM

I got the same message and I do have an account of sorts. Never purchased anything so no credit card numbers or anything of that sort. If you didn't have an account to begin with, then resetting your password is a moot point anyway.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS P8Z68-VPro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 2600k Sandy Bridge ( 4.4 Ghz ).... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....8Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 1600 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS


http://novabench.com/image/266589.png

______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users