PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Can I Uninstall Word 2010 And Reinstall It Without Losing A Licenses - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Can I Uninstall Word 2010 And Reinstall It Without Losing A Licenses

#1 User is offline   AlexanderParsan 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 24-September 11

Posted 02 October 2011 - 04:45 AM

I have Microsoft Home and Student 2010.
I plan to upgrade my PC.(Windows XP to Windows 7)
I am wondering if I can uninstall it and reinstall it after I upgrade the PC.
I have 3 licenses and I used two out of three.
I hope this is possible.
0

#2 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 02 October 2011 - 07:23 AM

View PostAlexanderParsan, on 02 October 2011 - 04:45 AM, said:

I have Microsoft Home and Student 2010.
I plan to upgrade my PC.(Windows XP to Windows 7)
I am wondering if I can uninstall it and reinstall it after I upgrade the PC.
I have 3 licenses and I used two out of three.
I hope this is possible.

Welcome to the forums,
When you activate Office a "snapshot" of your hardware is taken by MS, and as long as it stays mostly the same re-activation isn't an issue. Since you won't be changing your hardware you shouldn't have any trouble at all.
Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#3 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 02 October 2011 - 06:34 PM

View Postcompnovo, on 02 October 2011 - 07:23 AM, said:

View PostAlexanderParsan, on 02 October 2011 - 04:45 AM, said:

I have Microsoft Home and Student 2010.
I plan to upgrade my PC.(Windows XP to Windows 7)
I am wondering if I can uninstall it and reinstall it after I upgrade the PC.
I have 3 licenses and I used two out of three.
I hope this is possible.

Welcome to the forums,
When you activate Office a "snapshot" of your hardware is taken by MS, and as long as it stays mostly the same re-activation isn't an issue. Since you won't be changing your hardware you shouldn't have any trouble at all.


If it fails, call Microsoft, explain the situation, and they'll give you a code to reactivate it - just takes a few minutes.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users