PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: How To Remove Pc Power Speed Manually - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How To Remove Pc Power Speed Manually

#1 User is offline   windyK 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Member
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 15-November 11

Posted 15 November 2011 - 05:48 PM

A software named pc power speed somehow was installed on my pc and keep popping up alert message, I found that I had to pay for it so I want to get rid of it, this blog tell me remove it automatically: how to get rid of pc power speed virus , but I want to remove it manually, please advise… :rolleyes:
0

#2 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 15 November 2011 - 05:56 PM

View PostwindyK, on 15 November 2011 - 05:48 PM, said:

A software named pc power speed somehow was installed on my pc and keep popping up alert message, I found that I had to pay for it so I want to get rid of it, this blog tell me remove it automatically: how to get rid of pc power speed virus , but I want to remove it manually, please advise… :rolleyes:



Hi and welcome to the forums. Download, install, update and run www.Malwarebytes.org ( the FREE version ). That thing is apparently a Trojan and malwarebytes should take care of it.

From what I read here: http://www.seasonsec...ware-76092.html It would seen that it can be removed by way of Programs & Features ( Add / Remove programs in XP ). If so, that would be the first one I've seen that could be removed that way.

This post has been edited by coastie65: 16 November 2011 - 06:56 AM

Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#3 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 15 November 2011 - 06:42 PM

I HIGHLY doubt that the shortcut will work. Chances are that it'll just show up again as soon as you reboot (so you think you removed it, but you didn't). I've never heard of that .info site either, coastie. Sadly, I can't find anything on this from a reputable site. I'd try Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and Super Antispyware (in that order).
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users