PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Svchost Is Using Up A Lot Of Bandwidth On My Computer. - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Svchost Is Using Up A Lot Of Bandwidth On My Computer.

#1 User is offline   Maniaxe 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 17-February 10

Posted 04 December 2011 - 12:27 PM

Svchost.exe is using up a lot of bandwidth on my computer and I don't know how to fix that! In an hour, it can use over 100 MB just from itself and not from me surfing the Internet! How can I fix this?

This post has been edited by Maniaxe: 04 December 2011 - 12:38 PM

0

#2 User is offline   SpiritWind 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,425
  • Joined: 19-August 06

Posted 04 December 2011 - 01:59 PM

Hi :

"svchost.exe" can be "associated" with many different programs;
on my computer it is listed 4 times ( in my Task Manager ).
Which SPECIFIC program is it "linked" ?
For the very Best in Life :

http://www.ctftoronto.com
0

#3 User is offline   LincolnSpector 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,611
  • Joined: 16-October 06

Posted 05 December 2011 - 07:55 AM

View PostSpiritWind, on 04 December 2011 - 01:59 PM, said:

Hi :

"svchost.exe" can be "associated" with many different programs;
on my computer it is listed 4 times ( in my Task Manager ).
Which SPECIFIC program is it "linked" ?


See Why is Taskhost Consuming So Much of My CPU? The same situation applies to svchost.

Lincoln





0

#4 User is offline   Maniaxe 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 17-February 10

Posted 08 December 2011 - 08:04 PM

View PostSpiritWind, on 04 December 2011 - 01:59 PM, said:

Hi :

"svchost.exe" can be "associated" with many different programs;
on my computer it is listed 4 times ( in my Task Manager ).
Which SPECIFIC program is it "linked" ?


I don't know. How can I find out?
0

#5 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 08 December 2011 - 09:05 PM

Try Process Explorer - right-click an instance of something like rundll32.exe or svchost.exe and it'll tell you what dlls and such are loaded.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#6 User is offline   Maniaxe 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 17-February 10

Posted 09 December 2011 - 07:34 AM

View PostLiveBrianD, on 08 December 2011 - 09:05 PM, said:

Try Process Explorer - right-click an instance of something like rundll32.exe or svchost.exe and it'll tell you what dlls and such are loaded.


These are the dlls I found after I right-clicked each of the svchost files and clicked the service tab:

rpcss.dll
umpnpmgr.dll
umpo.dll
RpcEpMap.dll
rpcss.dll
Audiosrv.dll
dhcpcore.dll
wevtsvc.dll
provsvc.dll
wscsvc.dll
hidserv.dll
netman.dll
pcasvc.dll
sysmain.dll
trkwks.dll
uxsms.dll
wdi.dll
WUDFSvc.dll
aelupsvc.dll
appinfo.dll
qmgr.dll
browser.dll
gpsvc.dll
iphlpsvc.dll
srvsvc.dll
profsvc.dll
schedsvc.dll
sens.dll
shsvcs.dll
themeservice.dll
WMIsvc.dll
wuaueng.dll
es.dll
fdPHost.dll
netprofm.dll
wdi.dll
winhttp.dll
cryptsvc.dll
dnsrslvr.dll
wkssvc.dll
bfe.dll
dps.dll
mpssvc.dll
fdrespub.dll
FntCache.dll
ssdpsrv.dll
upnphost.dll
wiaservc.dll
0

#7 User is offline   SpiritWind 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,425
  • Joined: 19-August 06

Posted 09 December 2011 - 10:15 AM

Hi :

Did you read the info in Lincoln's article, especially the
following and tried to follow it !?
"If malware doesn't turn up, download and run Windows Sysinternals Process Explorer (you don't have to install it). Once loaded, you can find and point to the hoggish instance of taskhost.exe. To see what .dlls are using it, select View, then Show Lower Pane. Press CTRL-d to make sure you're viewing .dlls and not handles. " Of course substitute "svchost.exe" for "taskhost.exe" .
There is an excellent Support Forum where Experts interpret
what the "Screen Shot(s)" are saying at
http://forum.sysinte...rer_forum2.html .
That would be the best place for an Answer to your problem .
For the very Best in Life :

http://www.ctftoronto.com
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users