PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: How Do You Choose A Good Anti-virus Program? - PCWorld Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How Do You Choose A Good Anti-virus Program?

#1 User is offline   artman 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 08 December 2011 - 07:40 PM

I am currently using ESET NOD32 version 5 anti-virus on my 3 desktop and 1 laptop machine, all running Windows 7 Professional 64 bit. My subscription will expire in a couple of months and I have doing research on the web trying to determine which is the best anti-virus software available.

Many years ago I used Norton but it literally took over my machines and un-installing it was almost impossible. Then I used BitDefender for a few years and then I read that it was really heavy on system resources and I thought it was slowing my machines down. I have been using ESET NOD32 for the last 2 years. When ever I read reviews, etc. ESET is always at the bottom of the list although the ESET website says it is the best in independent lab tests.

Last week I downloaded the 30 day trial of Webroot SecureAnywhere anti-virus and I am trying it for 30 days.

Can anyone give me some thoughts on how to choose a good anti-virus program or recommendations? I am currently using the free versions of SuperAnti-Spyware and Malbytes Anti-Malware to keep my machines free of spyware and malware.

Thanks very much!

#2 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

• Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 08 December 2011 - 09:04 PM