PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Windows 7 Prof - Please Wait - Hang/delay - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Windows 7 Prof - Please Wait - Hang/delay Ms stuff not working as usual

#21 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 30 January 2012 - 10:38 AM

View PostDellinsp531, on 30 January 2012 - 10:10 AM, said:

I tried a USB keyboards, USB wireless keyboards, etc.... Same problem with different keyboards.

Oops, missed that.
Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#22 User is offline   Dellinsp531 

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 570
  • Joined: 21-June 11

Posted 31 January 2012 - 05:43 AM

No problem.

Well I am close to trying to contact Hp and Dell and see if they have any ideas.
"Windows 8 had the most vulnerabilities, at 156, but.... "
vulnerabilites rose in 2013, security firm finds

Windows 8 is a useless OS that Microsoft released that has many flaws and bugs. DO NOT USE IT. Use Windows XP or Windows 7.
Downgrading from Windows 8 to 7: What you need to know

German Agency Warns Windows 8 Pcs Vulnerable To Cyberthreats

Former Microsoft privacy adviser: 'I don't trust Microsoft now'



Other laptops that I had in the past:


(Why were my sign removed? Please let me know.)
0

#23 User is offline   A41202813 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,432
  • Joined: 03-February 07
  • Location:LISBOA, PORTUGAL

Posted 31 January 2012 - 08:10 AM

@Dellinsp531

6 Different Computers ?

Sorry, But At This Time I Am Only Capable Of Stupid Suggestions.

Do Those 6 Computers Have One And Exactly Equal Specific Hardware Device Model ?

Is Any Of Those Computers Portable ?

Can You Take It To A Different Building Or Geographical Location, And Test It ?

Thinking Outside The Box, It Seems The Problem Is Not Computer Related, At All.

Sorry, But As I Said, At This Time I Am Only Capable Of Stupid Suggestions.
0

#24 User is offline   Dellinsp531 

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 570
  • Joined: 21-June 11

Posted 31 January 2012 - 10:35 AM

Nope, they do not have same hardware.

Nope, not portable. They are towers.

Well suggestions is a suggestion if it solves the problem that it does not matter what kind it is.

This post has been edited by Dellinsp531: 31 January 2012 - 10:36 AM

"Windows 8 had the most vulnerabilities, at 156, but.... "
vulnerabilites rose in 2013, security firm finds

Windows 8 is a useless OS that Microsoft released that has many flaws and bugs. DO NOT USE IT. Use Windows XP or Windows 7.
Downgrading from Windows 8 to 7: What you need to know

German Agency Warns Windows 8 Pcs Vulnerable To Cyberthreats

Former Microsoft privacy adviser: 'I don't trust Microsoft now'



Other laptops that I had in the past:


(Why were my sign removed? Please let me know.)
0

#25 User is offline   A41202813 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,432
  • Joined: 03-February 07
  • Location:LISBOA, PORTUGAL

Posted 31 January 2012 - 12:46 PM

@Dellinsp531

What About Software ?

Did You Install The Exact Same OS From The Same DVD ( Or Something ) For All Of Them ?

OK, They Are Not Portable, But Can You Test One In A Different Place, As I Suggested Before ?

Stupid Suggestions Are Hard To Run Out, You Know, Because Something Really Weird Is Going On.
0

#26 User is offline   Dellinsp531 

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 570
  • Joined: 21-June 11

Posted 31 January 2012 - 02:13 PM

Different Software on each machine except the 3 HP: 2 have same software and 1 has different software installed after OS. But not now since it was reinstalled back to original state. I do have backups made of what was on their before reinstall.

The OS is from the restore DVD that came from each computer so the three HP have their own restore DVD, 1 HP has its own, and 2 Dell have its own. Using different DVD to reinstall OS.

The OS is Windows 7 prof so that is the only thing that is the same on all machines.

I might take a few of them at home over the long weekend and work on them at home but the locations should not have an impact. They already are moved from their original locations.

The clients are almost close to scrapping these machines and getting new if it can not be fixed. Gave them loaner systems for now but they would like to know what the problem is since they had many more of these system in place. Plus it is three different clients so it is strange that all would have similar problems.

This post has been edited by Dellinsp531: 31 January 2012 - 02:15 PM

"Windows 8 had the most vulnerabilities, at 156, but.... "
vulnerabilites rose in 2013, security firm finds

Windows 8 is a useless OS that Microsoft released that has many flaws and bugs. DO NOT USE IT. Use Windows XP or Windows 7.
Downgrading from Windows 8 to 7: What you need to know

German Agency Warns Windows 8 Pcs Vulnerable To Cyberthreats

Former Microsoft privacy adviser: 'I don't trust Microsoft now'



Other laptops that I had in the past:


(Why were my sign removed? Please let me know.)
0

#27 User is offline   A41202813 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,432
  • Joined: 03-February 07
  • Location:LISBOA, PORTUGAL

Posted 31 January 2012 - 02:20 PM

@Dellinsp531

If, And When, You Discover What Is The Problem, Do Not Forget To Post It Here, For The Sake Of Others In The Same Situation.
0

#28 User is offline   wojtekdstymk 

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: 08-February 12

Posted 08 February 2012 - 02:46 AM

Me have same problem. Me have Windows 7 Home Polish. Have screen that says "czekać" or "wait". It is laptop Toshiba C600.

Me can get laptop to work with Linux. Thanks for posting that. Now need to find way to work windows.
0

#29 User is offline   Dellinsp531 

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 570
  • Joined: 21-June 11

Posted 09 February 2012 - 07:26 AM

View PostA41202813, on 31 January 2012 - 02:20 PM, said:

@Dellinsp531

If, And When, You Discover What Is The Problem, Do Not Forget To Post It Here, For The Sake Of Others In The Same Situation.


I am working on it. I got another 10 more computers with same problem.


View Postwojtekdstymk, on 08 February 2012 - 02:46 AM, said:

Me have same problem. Me have Windows 7 Home Polish. Have screen that says "czekać" or "wait". It is laptop Toshiba C600.

Me can get laptop to work with Linux. Thanks for posting that. Now need to find way to work windows.


It is strange that the home version is affected as well. I have not seen any home yet. But for know you can use linux.
"Windows 8 had the most vulnerabilities, at 156, but.... "
vulnerabilites rose in 2013, security firm finds

Windows 8 is a useless OS that Microsoft released that has many flaws and bugs. DO NOT USE IT. Use Windows XP or Windows 7.
Downgrading from Windows 8 to 7: What you need to know

German Agency Warns Windows 8 Pcs Vulnerable To Cyberthreats

Former Microsoft privacy adviser: 'I don't trust Microsoft now'



Other laptops that I had in the past:


(Why were my sign removed? Please let me know.)
0

#30 User is offline   snorg 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,010
  • Joined: 28-November 07
  • Location:In the wild

Posted 09 February 2012 - 07:56 AM

View PostDellinsp531, on 17 January 2012 - 09:17 AM, said:

Does anyone have any other ideas?


How many of you defragged after you installed Win7 ??
Thats standard procedure after you install any OS.
Asus Vento Mini Tower Case....Asus M5A87 MOBO.....AMD Phenom II X6 1100T ( 3.3 OCed to 4.1GHz )....Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo....Three Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA III....Seagate Barracuda 3TB SATA III....8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 2X4GB DDR3-1600 RAM....450W PSU....ASUS GeForce GTX 650 Direct Cu 1058MHZ 1GB 5.0GHZ GDDR5 2xDVI HDMI D-Sub HDCP PCI-E DX11 Video Card....Diamond Xtreme 5.1 sound card....LG 24X SATA DVD burner....27" LED Monitor & 26" CRT TV.....custom pressurized air cooling system.... WindowsXP Home SP3 32bit
Posted Image
0

#31 User is offline   wojtekdstymk 

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: 08-February 12

Posted 11 February 2012 - 02:44 AM

View PostDellinsp531, on 09 February 2012 - 07:26 AM, said:


View Postwojtekdstymk, on 08 February 2012 - 02:46 AM, said:

Me have same problem. Me have Windows 7 Home Polish. Have screen that says "czekać" or "wait". It is laptop Toshiba C600.

Me can get laptop to work with Linux. Thanks for posting that. Now need to find way to work windows.


It is strange that the home version is affected as well. I have not seen any home yet. But for know you can use linux.



Me need a little help. My camera Sony is pick up by puppy linux but fspot does not recongize it. You know how to fix it
0

#32 User is offline   Dellinsp531 

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 570
  • Joined: 21-June 11

Posted 11 February 2012 - 05:04 AM

View Postsnorg, on 09 February 2012 - 07:56 AM, said:

View PostDellinsp531, on 17 January 2012 - 09:17 AM, said:

Does anyone have any other ideas?


How many of you defragged after you installed Win7 ??
Thats standard procedure after you install any OS.


Not sure how defragg will help. I will try it out and see.

I contact Dell and HP and right now Dell is blaming MS for it. HP is blaming MS. MS is blaming Dell & HP.


View Postwojtekdstymk, on 11 February 2012 - 02:44 AM, said:

View PostDellinsp531, on 09 February 2012 - 07:26 AM, said:


View Postwojtekdstymk, on 08 February 2012 - 02:46 AM, said:

Me have same problem. Me have Windows 7 Home Polish. Have screen that says "czekać" or "wait". It is laptop Toshiba C600.

Me can get laptop to work with Linux. Thanks for posting that. Now need to find way to work windows.


It is strange that the home version is affected as well. I have not seen any home yet. But for know you can use linux.



Me need a little help. My camera Sony is pick up by puppy linux but fspot does not recongize it. You know how to fix it



Puppy linux is a small distro. You might want to try Ubuntu.

If you want to use puppy, what is the error message?
"Windows 8 had the most vulnerabilities, at 156, but.... "
vulnerabilites rose in 2013, security firm finds

Windows 8 is a useless OS that Microsoft released that has many flaws and bugs. DO NOT USE IT. Use Windows XP or Windows 7.
Downgrading from Windows 8 to 7: What you need to know

German Agency Warns Windows 8 Pcs Vulnerable To Cyberthreats

Former Microsoft privacy adviser: 'I don't trust Microsoft now'



Other laptops that I had in the past:


(Why were my sign removed? Please let me know.)
1

#33 User is offline   wojtekdstymk 

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: 08-February 12

Posted 12 February 2012 - 03:13 AM

Thanks to replying to message. It work. Camera finally works with linux. Windows had problem with camera.
0

#34 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 12 February 2012 - 05:29 AM

[/quote]
I contact Dell and HP and right now Dell is blaming MS for it. HP is blaming MS. MS is blaming Dell & HP.
[/quote]


:lol: That figures.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#35 User is offline   Dellinsp531 

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 570
  • Joined: 21-June 11

Posted 30 May 2012 - 07:04 AM

A new addition to this problem has happen. The systems that had this problem have been replaced. There are some system that shown no problems and were left in service. The problem has show up on the system that was left over and did not have this problem before but had a new thing happen.

Here is what the user reported. She log in into the computer and got the please wait screen. But after 5 mins of waiting, the computer start the log in. The start menu is a black color instead of the normal blue color. She called down for help. I start to check the computer and notice that she had adminstrator access now but she is not set up for adminstrator access. She log in on a replacemanet machine and got here regular user account access.

What could have cause this?

I check the eventvwr and it is clear. Not events are recorded, which is strange.

Has anyone had this happen or similar thing happen?

Plus this person is not a very techinal and there is no sign of virus or malware on system, scanned it a few mins ago.

Currently have unplugged the computer from main network and put it on a separate network, which only has this computer and dummy server with no access outside to monitor activity. Gave her another machine for the time being. The machine has not been turn off since not sure if it will happen again if restart.

Any ideas???
"Windows 8 had the most vulnerabilities, at 156, but.... "
vulnerabilites rose in 2013, security firm finds

Windows 8 is a useless OS that Microsoft released that has many flaws and bugs. DO NOT USE IT. Use Windows XP or Windows 7.
Downgrading from Windows 8 to 7: What you need to know

German Agency Warns Windows 8 Pcs Vulnerable To Cyberthreats

Former Microsoft privacy adviser: 'I don't trust Microsoft now'



Other laptops that I had in the past:


(Why were my sign removed? Please let me know.)
0

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users