PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Motherboard And Cpu - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Motherboard And Cpu

#1 User is offline   Pilege21 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 19-December 11
  • Location:USA

Posted 01 February 2012 - 04:19 PM

I am going to build a computer for some friends and family. One question I have is about motherboards. I was looking at an ASUS board (http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131728) and this processor (http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819103995). Would these be ok to build together? Also if you went with a higher end processor like a six core processor or something that's over $200 on the Intel side? I think things like this would be ok together just more of have a feeling that a cheap board wouldn't be good with an expensive processor.
0

#2 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 01 February 2012 - 04:43 PM

Those would work. For a budget like yours, and amd cpu is fine. However, if possible, go for an i5 2300 or higher. If you're spending $200 on the cpu, you'd be an idiot to not get a CPU like the 2400 or 2500K (a phenom x6 isn't as good in many cases). It sounds like the board you chose has quite a few doas though... odd since asus is known to be a pretty good brand.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#3 User is offline   Pilege21 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 19-December 11
  • Location:USA

Posted 01 February 2012 - 05:12 PM

Ok. I wasn't going with these it was more of an example. Just like would a $70 board support the i5 2500k sandy bridge, or should I got with a more expensive board. A lot of builds I do for people they want to stay in a pretty low budget so I just use their old hard drives that way they save money on hard drives and OS.
0

#4 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 01 February 2012 - 05:39 PM

Yes it would. Granted, such a board wouldn't be great with overclocking or anything, but it would work. The ones used in oem machines are often pretty basic.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#5 User is offline   Pilege21 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 19-December 11
  • Location:USA

Posted 01 February 2012 - 05:41 PM

Ok. Thanks a lot!
0

#6 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 01 February 2012 - 05:49 PM

For a budget build, that is a pretty good choice of motherbord and processor. That will give you a bit of room for a decent Video Card and PSU. To be honest if a budget could handle it, I would scratch the processor in favor of an AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition or maybe a 965 BE. That is a pretty good series of Processors for AMD. As for the Intel i5 2500k, it is now consodered a budget processor, but is still above $200 and a motherbard is going to be north of $100. I have seen the i5 2500k under $200, but that was just before Christmas.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#7 User is offline   Pilege21 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 19-December 11
  • Location:USA

Posted 02 February 2012 - 12:27 PM

Would this processor be able to run Star Wars The Old Republic?

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819103995
0

#8 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 02 February 2012 - 03:38 PM

That should be good.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#9 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 02 February 2012 - 05:02 PM

View PostPilege21, on 02 February 2012 - 12:27 PM, said:

Would this processor be able to run Star Wars The Old Republic?

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819103995



For $5 more you could get this one: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819103893 and it is a far better processor.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#10 User is offline   waldojim 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,412
  • Joined: 29-October 08
  • Location:Texas

Posted 02 February 2012 - 05:23 PM

I suppose that depends on how you look at things Coastie. The 960T is 3Ghz at 95watts, the 970 is 3.5 at 125 watts. So the question here would be simple for me: is the extra 500Mhz worth the extra 30 watt load, and 30 watts worth of heat? That 125Watt chip also may not be supported by the motherboard...

Just something to consider.

EDIT: Double checked the specs, no that Asus board does NOT support 125 watt CPUs.

This post has been edited by waldojim: 02 February 2012 - 05:25 PM

"There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" -- Isaac Asimov

Steam Machine: MSI 970A-G46, AMD Phenom 955 @ 4.0Ghz, 8GB Gskill ram @1600mhz, 128GB Plextor M5s, EVGA GTX 550Ti
Laptop: Alienware 14, Intel i7-4700MQ, 8GB DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTX 765M 4GB DDR5, Plextor M3 256GB SSD, 1080P IPS display, Killer GigE, Killer 1202 wifi
Hackintosh: Gigabyte H61m-HD2, Celeron G1610, 4GB Patriot ram @1333Mhz, Asus GT210, WD 1TB Black, Silverstone ES50 500watt PSU, OS-X Mountain Liion
0

#11 User is offline   Pilege21 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 19-December 11
  • Location:USA

Posted 02 February 2012 - 06:11 PM

The motherboard posted earlier was more of an example. The actual board I believe is compatible with 125W. I was going to use the 955 but it says it is deactivated. So I found this for an alternative.

I believe I have everything needed for this game except for a video card. Just trying to find one that is really good and around $125. If anyone has any suggestions that would be helpful.

Here's a list of the build I may be going with. (Depending on availability or deals through other components.)

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811156062

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131699

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819103995

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231461
0

#12 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 02 February 2012 - 06:48 PM

For $120, you can get a sapphire ati 6770. I have an evga nvidia 550ti, which is a tiny bit more powerful (and expensive) than the 6770, and it can play everything I've tried at 1920x1080 and high detail while still maintaining 60fps. I see no need to get low-voltage ram (get the regular 1.5V stuff or something). Also, I wouldn't trust a raidmax psu. I read that the 12V rail (which is what everything uses nowadays) only has 22A on it, even though it's 500W. In contrast, my 520W seasonic has a 40A one. Yep - very similar wattage rating, but nearly twice the ampage on the 12V rail. You'd be much better off with a Antec Earthwatts 380W - it's rated for LESS wattage, but has a HIGHER ampage on the 12V rail (32A) and Antec has a much better reputation than Raidmax. If you're only getting a geforce 550ti or 560ti or an amd equivilent, an antec earthwatts 380W is ok. Otherwise, I would get something like a seasonic s12ii 520W, which will give you quite a bit of upgrade room (that's what I have). Perhaps a motherboard like this would be good? http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131651 (it has usb 3, for instance) Also, I've heard that raidmax cases have poor construction and airflow. For about $60, the Antec 300 is a pretty good case (I have it).

This post has been edited by LiveBrianD: 02 February 2012 - 07:04 PM

Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#13 User is offline   waldojim 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,412
  • Joined: 29-October 08
  • Location:Texas

Posted 02 February 2012 - 08:43 PM

View PostLiveBrianD, on 02 February 2012 - 06:48 PM, said:

For $120, you can get a sapphire ati 6770. I have an evga nvidia 550ti, which is a tiny bit more powerful (and expensive) than the 6770, and it can play everything I've tried at 1920x1080 and high detail while still maintaining 60fps. I see no need to get low-voltage ram (get the regular 1.5V stuff or something). Also, I wouldn't trust a raidmax psu. I read that the 12V rail (which is what everything uses nowadays) only has 22A on it, even though it's 500W. In contrast, my 520W seasonic has a 40A one. Yep - very similar wattage rating, but nearly twice the ampage on the 12V rail. You'd be much better off with a Antec Earthwatts 380W - it's rated for LESS wattage, but has a HIGHER ampage on the 12V rail (32A) and Antec has a much better reputation than Raidmax. If you're only getting a geforce 550ti or 560ti or an amd equivilent, an antec earthwatts 380W is ok. Otherwise, I would get something like a seasonic s12ii 520W, which will give you quite a bit of upgrade room (that's what I have). Perhaps a motherboard like this would be good? http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131651 (it has usb 3, for instance) Also, I've heard that raidmax cases have poor construction and airflow. For about $60, the Antec 300 is a pretty good case (I have it).


The RX-500s (included in that case) is actually good for 28A. About 336W total on the 12V rail. Plenty for a very basic system with a 550Ti or 6770. Not that I would trust it for long. Many Antec cases ship with EarthWatts power supplies, and generally I would recommend going that route. Alternatively, you could look for this case without a PSU, and get a separate, quality, power supply.
"There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" -- Isaac Asimov

Steam Machine: MSI 970A-G46, AMD Phenom 955 @ 4.0Ghz, 8GB Gskill ram @1600mhz, 128GB Plextor M5s, EVGA GTX 550Ti
Laptop: Alienware 14, Intel i7-4700MQ, 8GB DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTX 765M 4GB DDR5, Plextor M3 256GB SSD, 1080P IPS display, Killer GigE, Killer 1202 wifi
Hackintosh: Gigabyte H61m-HD2, Celeron G1610, 4GB Patriot ram @1333Mhz, Asus GT210, WD 1TB Black, Silverstone ES50 500watt PSU, OS-X Mountain Liion
0

#14 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 02 February 2012 - 09:07 PM

But realistically how much can it do? This isn't a Seasonic unit. btw The only situation where I think the psu included with the case can be trusted is if it's an antec or corsair. (seasonic, silverstone, pc power & cooling aren't bundled w/ cases it seems) I just looked and, dang it, Antec just introduced a bunch of new cases! Only a few weeks after I just bought one from them... Dang it... Anyway, I was able to find some cases with an antec EW 380W included, though the case isn't great in design and I think you might want a little headroom, so I'd still recommend getting an antec 300 (or something similar) and a seasonic s12ii 520W or antec earthwatts 380W if you don't need much upgrade room. The price is similar to what you'd get if you got an included psu anyway it seems.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#15 User is offline   Pilege21 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 19-December 11
  • Location:USA

Posted 03 February 2012 - 04:41 PM

Ok. How's Sentey on cases? Saw Newegg is having 15% off sale. They look cool. Not really a lot of ratings, guessing they are new.
0

#16 User is offline   Pilege21 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 19-December 11
  • Location:USA

Posted 03 February 2012 - 04:47 PM

Is this the one you were talking about? http://www.newegg.co...al-_-17-371-034

I also found these:

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817371035

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817151093

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817371046

Would any of these work?
0

#17 User is offline   waldojim 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,412
  • Joined: 29-October 08
  • Location:Texas

Posted 03 February 2012 - 05:10 PM

View PostPilege21, on 03 February 2012 - 04:47 PM, said:



Every one of those would work.

Also, I have never used a Sentey case, so I can't help you there.
"There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" -- Isaac Asimov

Steam Machine: MSI 970A-G46, AMD Phenom 955 @ 4.0Ghz, 8GB Gskill ram @1600mhz, 128GB Plextor M5s, EVGA GTX 550Ti
Laptop: Alienware 14, Intel i7-4700MQ, 8GB DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTX 765M 4GB DDR5, Plextor M3 256GB SSD, 1080P IPS display, Killer GigE, Killer 1202 wifi
Hackintosh: Gigabyte H61m-HD2, Celeron G1610, 4GB Patriot ram @1333Mhz, Asus GT210, WD 1TB Black, Silverstone ES50 500watt PSU, OS-X Mountain Liion
0

#18 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 03 February 2012 - 05:26 PM

View Postwaldojim, on 02 February 2012 - 05:23 PM, said:

I suppose that depends on how you look at things Coastie. The 960T is 3Ghz at 95watts, the 970 is 3.5 at 125 watts. So the question here would be simple for me: is the extra 500Mhz worth the extra 30 watt load, and 30 watts worth of heat? That 125Watt chip also may not be supported by the motherboard...

Just something to consider.

EDIT: Double checked the specs, no that Asus board does NOT support 125 watt CPUs.


Yup. I was paying absolutely no attention to the TDP. :P Better to go with the lower TDP for sure.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#19 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 03 February 2012 - 06:22 PM

View PostPilege21, on 03 February 2012 - 04:47 PM, said:



Any of those will work. Note: The seasonic S12II is cheaper than the M12II.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#20 User is offline   waldojim 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,412
  • Joined: 29-October 08
  • Location:Texas

Posted 03 February 2012 - 06:46 PM

View Postwaldojim, on 03 February 2012 - 05:10 PM, said:

View PostPilege21, on 03 February 2012 - 04:47 PM, said:



Every one of those would work.

Also, I have never used a Sentey case, so I can't help you there.


You know, now that I think about it, I would suggest getting the Antec HCG. Out of that list, it is by far the most stable of the bunch, and the best value.
"There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" -- Isaac Asimov

Steam Machine: MSI 970A-G46, AMD Phenom 955 @ 4.0Ghz, 8GB Gskill ram @1600mhz, 128GB Plextor M5s, EVGA GTX 550Ti
Laptop: Alienware 14, Intel i7-4700MQ, 8GB DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTX 765M 4GB DDR5, Plextor M3 256GB SSD, 1080P IPS display, Killer GigE, Killer 1202 wifi
Hackintosh: Gigabyte H61m-HD2, Celeron G1610, 4GB Patriot ram @1333Mhz, Asus GT210, WD 1TB Black, Silverstone ES50 500watt PSU, OS-X Mountain Liion
0

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users