Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How To Recover Data From Dropped External Hd

#1 User is offline   bkplummer 

• Pip
  • Group: New Member

Posted 12 November 2012 - 10:08 PM

I have an external HD from a previous laptop in a cheap plastic case. Earlier this evening, as the HD was attached to the laptop, the HD fell about 2 feet from the arm of a couch onto a wood laminate floor. After this happened, the HD is not working. When I plug it into the laptop, it will start to spin (I can feel/hear it) and the light on the front of the case will go from red to green -- but after a few seconds the vibration feeling stops -- although the light remains green and the HD never shows up in the lost of drives in My Computer even though it is still plugged in. There are several files (though not many/big in size as compared to the HD) that I really must try and recover as I am a graphic designer -- and they are current projects in my working que. Can this be done? Cheaply? Fast? What do you call suggest? Your help is great appreciated!

#2 User is offline   LincolnSpector 

• Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 13 November 2012 - 09:31 AM

Hi, bkplummer, and welcome to the forum.

Since the drive has obviously suffered physical damage, I don't think you have another option besides taking it to a data recovery service. I can't recommend one based on personal experience or professional testing (I've never needed one, and I've never figured out a practical way to test them). But the two best known are Ontrack and DriveSavers.

I don't know how fast they are. I do know that they're expensive--hundreds to thousands of dollars. I believe the price at least partially is based on how much data you need recovered. Since you only need to recover a few not-too-big files, it may not be too bad.