PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Can Windows 7 Driver Be Used For Windows 8? - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Can Windows 7 Driver Be Used For Windows 8?

#1 User is offline   EnVy26 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 03-September 12

Posted 16 November 2012 - 05:09 PM

I'm planning to upgrade my laptop to windows 8 and wondering if the driver from windows 7 can be used on it.
0

#2 User is offline   waldojim 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,412
  • Joined: 29-October 08
  • Location:Texas

Posted 16 November 2012 - 05:17 PM

View PostEnVy26, on 16 November 2012 - 05:09 PM, said:

I'm planning to upgrade my laptop to windows 8 and wondering if the driver from windows 7 can be used on it.

A lot of that depends on the specific hardware, and drivers. For many of my drivers on my older desktop, I actually used Windows Vista drivers.

So the tentative answer here is yes. Sort of. Sound drivers will likely need to be Windows 8 specific (due to massive changes there), wifi drivers you are probably better off finding updated generic drivers, than using Windows 7 drivers. If you give us the system details, we can help locate drivers for you.

The other option, probably a better one, is to run the Windows Upgrade Assistant, and see what it comes back with.
"There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" -- Isaac Asimov

Steam Machine: MSI 970A-G46, AMD Phenom 955 @ 4.0Ghz, 8GB Gskill ram @1600mhz, 128GB Plextor M5s, EVGA GTX 550Ti
Laptop: Alienware 14, Intel i7-4700MQ, 8GB DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTX 765M 4GB DDR5, Plextor M3 256GB SSD, 1080P IPS display, Killer GigE, Killer 1202 wifi
Hackintosh: Gigabyte H61m-HD2, Celeron G1610, 4GB Patriot ram @1333Mhz, Asus GT210, WD 1TB Black, Silverstone ES50 500watt PSU, OS-X Mountain Liion
0

#3 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 16 November 2012 - 05:57 PM

I should note that I've been using VMware WS 8 with guest Windows 7 additions so far with no issues. (that version doesn't actually support win8) Chances are that it'll work - I've seen plenty of XP drivers work on Vista and 7, which use a completely different driver model for everything.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#4 User is offline   EnVy26 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 03-September 12

Posted 16 November 2012 - 07:28 PM

View Postwaldojim, on 16 November 2012 - 05:17 PM, said:

View PostEnVy26, on 16 November 2012 - 05:09 PM, said:

I'm planning to upgrade my laptop to windows 8 and wondering if the driver from windows 7 can be used on it.

A lot of that depends on the specific hardware, and drivers. For many of my drivers on my older desktop, I actually used Windows Vista drivers.

So the tentative answer here is yes. Sort of. Sound drivers will likely need to be Windows 8 specific (due to massive changes there), wifi drivers you are probably better off finding updated generic drivers, than using Windows 7 drivers. If you give us the system details, we can help locate drivers for you.

The other option, probably a better one, is to run the Windows Upgrade Assistant, and see what it comes back with.


Sorry if my question sound stupid but what do you mean by finding updated generic driver for wifi? Currently I'm using broadcom wifi driver.
0

#5 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 16 November 2012 - 08:14 PM

What wireless card do you have? (or just your laptop's brand and model) Chances are that the existing drivers will work without a problem though.

This post has been edited by LiveBrianD: 16 November 2012 - 08:14 PM

Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#6 User is offline   EnVy26 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 03-September 12

Posted 16 November 2012 - 08:51 PM

View PostLiveBrianD, on 16 November 2012 - 08:14 PM, said:

What wireless card do you have? (or just your laptop's brand and model) Chances are that the existing drivers will work without a problem though.


my wireless is broadcom, as for my laptop it acer aspire 4741z
0

#7 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 16 November 2012 - 09:08 PM

Dang it... I can't seem to find the exact wireless card model that uses. However, there's a pretty good chance the existing Windows 7 drivers will work without issue. (You might want to download the 90-day trial off technet first to see if it works and you're willing to put up with metro before you shell out some money for it.)
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#8 User is offline   waldojim 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,412
  • Joined: 29-October 08
  • Location:Texas

Posted 16 November 2012 - 09:27 PM

View PostEnVy26, on 16 November 2012 - 08:51 PM, said:

View PostLiveBrianD, on 16 November 2012 - 08:14 PM, said:

What wireless card do you have? (or just your laptop's brand and model) Chances are that the existing drivers will work without a problem though.


my wireless is broadcom, as for my laptop it acer aspire 4741z

Most broadcom cards actually have excellent out of the box support in windows 8. The only remaining issue may be sound. I will investigate.
"There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" -- Isaac Asimov

Steam Machine: MSI 970A-G46, AMD Phenom 955 @ 4.0Ghz, 8GB Gskill ram @1600mhz, 128GB Plextor M5s, EVGA GTX 550Ti
Laptop: Alienware 14, Intel i7-4700MQ, 8GB DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTX 765M 4GB DDR5, Plextor M3 256GB SSD, 1080P IPS display, Killer GigE, Killer 1202 wifi
Hackintosh: Gigabyte H61m-HD2, Celeron G1610, 4GB Patriot ram @1333Mhz, Asus GT210, WD 1TB Black, Silverstone ES50 500watt PSU, OS-X Mountain Liion
0

#9 User is offline   waldojim 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,412
  • Joined: 29-October 08
  • Location:Texas

Posted 16 November 2012 - 09:32 PM

Ok good news. The aspire you listed uses a stard realtek driver. Windows has a driver included for that as well. So everything should be golden.
"There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" -- Isaac Asimov

Steam Machine: MSI 970A-G46, AMD Phenom 955 @ 4.0Ghz, 8GB Gskill ram @1600mhz, 128GB Plextor M5s, EVGA GTX 550Ti
Laptop: Alienware 14, Intel i7-4700MQ, 8GB DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTX 765M 4GB DDR5, Plextor M3 256GB SSD, 1080P IPS display, Killer GigE, Killer 1202 wifi
Hackintosh: Gigabyte H61m-HD2, Celeron G1610, 4GB Patriot ram @1333Mhz, Asus GT210, WD 1TB Black, Silverstone ES50 500watt PSU, OS-X Mountain Liion
0

#10 User is offline   EnVy26 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 03-September 12

Posted 16 November 2012 - 09:36 PM

So, about the wifi. I should just use the windows 7 driver right? or I just have to find other alternatives...
0

#11 User is offline   waldojim 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,412
  • Joined: 29-October 08
  • Location:Texas

Posted 16 November 2012 - 10:53 PM

View PostEnVy26, on 16 November 2012 - 09:36 PM, said:

So, about the wifi. I should just use the windows 7 driver right? or I just have to find other alternatives...

You should be using the drivers that come with windows 8. If the dont work the try the latest version of the drivers from acers site.
"There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" -- Isaac Asimov

Steam Machine: MSI 970A-G46, AMD Phenom 955 @ 4.0Ghz, 8GB Gskill ram @1600mhz, 128GB Plextor M5s, EVGA GTX 550Ti
Laptop: Alienware 14, Intel i7-4700MQ, 8GB DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTX 765M 4GB DDR5, Plextor M3 256GB SSD, 1080P IPS display, Killer GigE, Killer 1202 wifi
Hackintosh: Gigabyte H61m-HD2, Celeron G1610, 4GB Patriot ram @1333Mhz, Asus GT210, WD 1TB Black, Silverstone ES50 500watt PSU, OS-X Mountain Liion
0

#12 User is offline   EnVy26 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 03-September 12

Posted 17 November 2012 - 12:26 AM

I've found this but which one should I download?

Quote


0

#13 User is offline   EnVy26 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 03-September 12

Posted 18 November 2012 - 07:26 AM

I'm happy to announce that windows 8 have been successfully installed.

But I'm a little disappointed that they didn't include microsoft .net framework 2.0 & 3.5 cuz some of my drivers really need those things to installed. But it's not a big deal, I can download those things later.

Now the only thing to do is getting used to the metro ui :P
0

#14 User is offline   waldojim 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,412
  • Joined: 29-October 08
  • Location:Texas

Posted 18 November 2012 - 10:34 AM

View PostEnVy26, on 18 November 2012 - 07:26 AM, said:

I'm happy to announce that windows 8 have been successfully installed.

But I'm a little disappointed that they didn't include microsoft .net framework 2.0 & 3.5 cuz some of my drivers really need those things to installed. But it's not a big deal, I can download those things later.

Now the only thing to do is getting used to the metro ui :P

Go into "Programs and Features" then "Turn Windows Features on or off". In there you will find .Net 3.5 (includes 2.0 and 3.0), and .NET 4.5.
"There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" -- Isaac Asimov

Steam Machine: MSI 970A-G46, AMD Phenom 955 @ 4.0Ghz, 8GB Gskill ram @1600mhz, 128GB Plextor M5s, EVGA GTX 550Ti
Laptop: Alienware 14, Intel i7-4700MQ, 8GB DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTX 765M 4GB DDR5, Plextor M3 256GB SSD, 1080P IPS display, Killer GigE, Killer 1202 wifi
Hackintosh: Gigabyte H61m-HD2, Celeron G1610, 4GB Patriot ram @1333Mhz, Asus GT210, WD 1TB Black, Silverstone ES50 500watt PSU, OS-X Mountain Liion
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users