• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How To Activate Windows Defender In Windows 8

#21 User is offline   bevaau 

• Pip
  • Group: New Member

Posted 01 January 2013 - 02:01 PM

(Sorry - I'm still learning to use the trackpad too!)
Thank you - that worked great. I have used Windows Security Essentials for some time now (with Vista) and had NO desire to get into Norton's clutches.

#22 User is offline   tcmarkert 

• Pip

Posted 12 January 2013 - 09:17 AM

Windows defender screen doesn't appear when trying to activate Defender a window appears with msg that windows defender is turned off It's as if the software isn't there?? what doe i do. I'm using a trial version of Kapersky that will expire soon

#23 User is offline   kevvy 

• Pip

Posted 13 January 2013 - 01:22 PM

Windows defender screen doesn't appear when trying to activate Defender a window appears with msg that windows defender is turned off It's as if the software isn't there?? what doe i do. I'm using a trial version of Kapersky that will expire soon

I have exactly the same problem.
Thanks for any help.
Kevvy.

#24 User is offline   Joni46231 

• Pip

Posted 14 January 2013 - 10:49 AM

biginc said
When I try to activate Windows Defender, I get a box saying "If you're using another app to check for malicious or unwanted software, use Action Center to check that app's status. My computer came with McAfee trial installed. Any ideas? or if I uninstall McAfee, will that solve my problem? That will probably solve the problem. It is considered bad practice to have two AVs running at the same time (they tend to fight with each other).

That does NOT solve the problem, I deactivated McAfee, but before and after doing that I get the same pop up that states that Windows Defender has been turned off, how can I turn it on again?

#25 User is offline   WinTard 

• Veteran
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 15 January 2013 - 05:03 PM

Can you people read?