Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Dual Hard Drive Help

#1 User is offline   PoloTiger 

• Pip
  • Group: New Member

Posted 19 December 2012 - 10:53 AM

Hi I have a dual Hard drive set up with at Corsair 128gb SSD and a Barracuda 500gb HHD.

I put the main games I play on my SSD with my Windows 7 on it s well, about 100 gigs of data. Currently I have that as the main hard rice, but I want everyday downloads like images and adding and such on my HDD. Should I go into BIOS and change the order of the start up, or should I rename the HDD and SDD? Or should I do something completely different. I'm new to windows, and want my SSD to only have Games and Windows on it. Nothing else like music, addins, texture packs, or smaller games. Please help. And Happy Holidays.

#2 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

• Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 19 December 2012 - 01:30 PM

You can create folders on the hard drive for documents, music, etc, and add them to the libraries in Windows 7 or later, setting those as the defualt save locations.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?

#3 User is offline   LincolnSpector 

• Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 20 December 2012 - 09:31 AM

Hi, PoloTiger, and welcome to the forums.

Go to your folder within C:\Users. You can get there by clicking Start, then clicking your name in the upper-right corner of the start menu.

Once there, right-click the Downloads folder and select Properties. Click the Location tab. Set the location to a folder on your HDD. From here on in, your downloads will go by default to the HDD.

I recommend you do this as well for Documents, Music, Videos, Pictures, and most other folders here.

Lincoln

#4 User is offline   PoloTiger 

• Pip

Posted 20 December 2012 - 10:18 AM