PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Confused, Transfering Music From Mp3 Player To Ipod? - PCWorld Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Confused, Transfering Music From Mp3 Player To Ipod?

#1 User is offline   Janisum 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 27 January 2013 - 01:16 PM

I am a novice indeed when it comes to doing anything other than the basics on my computer. So, my husband comes home w/ a MP3 player that's full of music he didn't download or want. He then got a ipod and wants to clean up the MP3 player and download from a program, (not sure which one, LastFM and Pandora rate highest) music he likes onto the player and then transfer to the Ipod.

Do we need to go through transfering from one player to the other or can a person just download onto the Ipod? I'm not aware of the legalities.

We can't spend alot of money buying music and have no idea how to go about this. We did download Itunes but I'm not sure I like it because of the confusion. We need something simple.

Does anyone have any idea how we can go about this? Any help is deeply appreciated..

I have Win/7 with I.E. 9 . The current programs I have installed are 1) Apple Software 2) Pandora internet radio 3) Windows media center and player. I hope I've provided you with enough info. to help you answer.

In advance.. a big thank you
Janisum

#3 User is offline   LincolnSpector 

• Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 28 January 2013 - 08:55 AM

Hi, Janisum.

I don't believe you can move music directly from the MP3 player (which I'm assuming isn't an Apple device) and an iPod. However, you can probably plug the MP3 player into your PC and, treating it like a flash drive, copy the files to your hard drive. If the music is in the form of .mp3 files, you can move the songs into iTunes on your PC, then sync iTunes to the iPod to get the music on that.