PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Help Upgrading Ddr3 Ram - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Help Upgrading Ddr3 Ram

#1 User is offline   JJ108X 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Member
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 31-January 13

Posted 13 February 2013 - 09:05 AM

Hello, I currently have this motherboard: http://www.asrock.co...43Twins-FullHD/

It says that it, "Supports Dual Channel DDR3 1066/800 (2 x DIMM slots) with max. capacity up to 8GB." My question is will it support this ram module since it's at 1600mhz and my motherboard only says 1066/800? Here is the ram module I am speaking of: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB ( 2 x 4 GB ) DDR3 1600 MHz

If the above ram module won't work, will I have any issues with this module? Kingston Value RAM 8GB 1066MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL7 DIMM

Thanks for your time!

This post has been edited by JJ108X: 13 February 2013 - 09:08 AM

0

#2 User is offline   waldojim 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,412
  • Joined: 29-October 08
  • Location:Texas

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:48 AM

View PostJJ108X, on 13 February 2013 - 09:05 AM, said:

Hello, I currently have this motherboard: http://www.asrock.co...43Twins-FullHD/

It says that it, "Supports Dual Channel DDR3 1066/800 (2 x DIMM slots) with max. capacity up to 8GB." My question is will it support this ram module since it's at 1600mhz and my motherboard only says 1066/800? Here is the ram module I am speaking of: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB ( 2 x 4 GB ) DDR3 1600 MHz

If the above ram module won't work, will I have any issues with this module? Kingston Value RAM 8GB 1066MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL7 DIMM

Thanks for your time!


Will it work? Yes. Is it a waste of money? Yes.
Try this instead: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820104339
Just as fast, just as stable, and considerably cheaper.
"There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" -- Isaac Asimov

Steam Machine: MSI 970A-G46, AMD Phenom 955 @ 4.0Ghz, 8GB Gskill ram @1600mhz, 128GB Plextor M5s, EVGA GTX 550Ti
Laptop: Alienware 14, Intel i7-4700MQ, 8GB DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTX 765M 4GB DDR5, Plextor M3 256GB SSD, 1080P IPS display, Killer GigE, Killer 1202 wifi
Hackintosh: Gigabyte H61m-HD2, Celeron G1610, 4GB Patriot ram @1333Mhz, Asus GT210, WD 1TB Black, Silverstone ES50 500watt PSU, OS-X Mountain Liion
0

#3 User is offline   JJ108X 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Member
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 31-January 13

Posted 13 February 2013 - 03:37 PM

View Postwaldojim, on 13 February 2013 - 10:48 AM, said:

View PostJJ108X, on 13 February 2013 - 09:05 AM, said:

Hello, I currently have this motherboard: http://www.asrock.co...43Twins-FullHD/

It says that it, "Supports Dual Channel DDR3 1066/800 (2 x DIMM slots) with max. capacity up to 8GB." My question is will it support this ram module since it's at 1600mhz and my motherboard only says 1066/800? Here is the ram module I am speaking of: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB ( 2 x 4 GB ) DDR3 1600 MHz

If the above ram module won't work, will I have any issues with this module? Kingston Value RAM 8GB 1066MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL7 DIMM

Thanks for your time!


Will it work? Yes. Is it a waste of money? Yes.
Try this instead: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820104339
Just as fast, just as stable, and considerably cheaper.


Hey, thanks a lot, waldojim! Will I have to do any tweaking to the bios to make it run at 1600mhz instead of 1066mhz?

This post has been edited by JJ108X: 13 February 2013 - 04:18 PM

0

#4 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 13 February 2013 - 04:13 PM

Hi. Hard to say. If the motherboard only supports 1066 / 800, then it will probably run at 1066. You may be able to OC it in the BiOS, but that is problematic.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#5 User is offline   JJ108X 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Member
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 31-January 13

Posted 13 February 2013 - 04:35 PM

View Postcoastie65, on 13 February 2013 - 04:13 PM, said:

Hi. Hard to say. If the motherboard only supports 1066 / 800, then it will probably run at 1066. You may be able to OC it in the BiOS, but that is problematic.


Hey, coastie65! Thanks for chiming in once again. Problematic you say, hmmm.... would I be better off going with this then?

http://www.amazon.co...words=DDR3+1066
0

#6 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 13 February 2013 - 05:00 PM

View PostJJ108X, on 13 February 2013 - 04:35 PM, said:

View Postcoastie65, on 13 February 2013 - 04:13 PM, said:

Hi. Hard to say. If the motherboard only supports 1066 / 800, then it will probably run at 1066. You may be able to OC it in the BiOS, but that is problematic.


Hey, coastie65! Thanks for chiming in once again. Problematic you say, hmmm.... would I be better off going with this then?

http://www.amazon.co...words=DDR3+1066



Hi. That Motherboard is a socket 775. I would just go with the 1066 mhz ram and leave it at that. It does have auto tuning in the BiOS, but just how far you may be able to go with that, is as I said, problematic.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#7 User is offline   waldojim 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,412
  • Joined: 29-October 08
  • Location:Texas

Posted 13 February 2013 - 06:25 PM

It doesn't hurt having faster ram, if nothing else, you can use it later on in a new system should you have the desire to upgrade later.
"There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" -- Isaac Asimov

Steam Machine: MSI 970A-G46, AMD Phenom 955 @ 4.0Ghz, 8GB Gskill ram @1600mhz, 128GB Plextor M5s, EVGA GTX 550Ti
Laptop: Alienware 14, Intel i7-4700MQ, 8GB DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTX 765M 4GB DDR5, Plextor M3 256GB SSD, 1080P IPS display, Killer GigE, Killer 1202 wifi
Hackintosh: Gigabyte H61m-HD2, Celeron G1610, 4GB Patriot ram @1333Mhz, Asus GT210, WD 1TB Black, Silverstone ES50 500watt PSU, OS-X Mountain Liion
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users