PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Gtx 660 - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Gtx 660

#1 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 14 February 2013 - 01:44 PM

Do you guys know anything about this card? I am STRONGLY considering an upgrade from my GTX 460 SE and the 660 looks like it hits the right price/performance balance. I like the PhysX feature so I'm not looking at AMD cards this time around.
Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#2 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 14 February 2013 - 04:04 PM

View Postcompnovo, on 14 February 2013 - 01:44 PM, said:

Do you guys know anything about this card? I am STRONGLY considering an upgrade from my GTX 460 SE and the 660 looks like it hits the right price/performance balance. I like the PhysX feature so I'm not looking at AMD cards this time around.



Hey Comp. It should be fine. I'm not all that familiar with it as I am running the GTX 680.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#3 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 14 February 2013 - 05:00 PM

View Postcoastie65, on 14 February 2013 - 04:04 PM, said:

View Postcompnovo, on 14 February 2013 - 01:44 PM, said:

Do you guys know anything about this card? I am STRONGLY considering an upgrade from my GTX 460 SE and the 660 looks like it hits the right price/performance balance. I like the PhysX feature so I'm not looking at AMD cards this time around.



Hey Comp. It should be fine. I'm not all that familiar with it as I am running the GTX 680.

I think the 660 is considered the poor man's version of your 680.
:lol:

This post has been edited by compnovo: 14 February 2013 - 05:00 PM

Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#4 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 15 February 2013 - 10:27 AM

View Postcompnovo, on 14 February 2013 - 05:00 PM, said:

View Postcoastie65, on 14 February 2013 - 04:04 PM, said:

View Postcompnovo, on 14 February 2013 - 01:44 PM, said:

Do you guys know anything about this card? I am STRONGLY considering an upgrade from my GTX 460 SE and the 660 looks like it hits the right price/performance balance. I like the PhysX feature so I'm not looking at AMD cards this time around.



Hey Comp. It should be fine. I'm not all that familiar with it as I am running the GTX 680.

I think the 660 is considered the poor man's version of your 680.
:lol:


I think tghere is a 660Ti as well. Either would be a huge step up from what you have now.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#5 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 15 February 2013 - 12:13 PM

View Postcoastie65, on 15 February 2013 - 10:27 AM, said:

View Postcompnovo, on 14 February 2013 - 05:00 PM, said:

View Postcoastie65, on 14 February 2013 - 04:04 PM, said:

View Postcompnovo, on 14 February 2013 - 01:44 PM, said:

Do you guys know anything about this card? I am STRONGLY considering an upgrade from my GTX 460 SE and the 660 looks like it hits the right price/performance balance. I like the PhysX feature so I'm not looking at AMD cards this time around.



Hey Comp. It should be fine. I'm not all that familiar with it as I am running the GTX 680.

I think the 660 is considered the poor man's version of your 680.
:lol:


I think tghere is a 660Ti as well. Either would be a huge step up from what you have now.

I briefly considered the "ti" version but it went a little too far out of my budget especially since, as you say, either would make a big difference. It looks like the new architecture is specifically designed for 1080p gaming, and is more energy efficient to boot (my old card uses two six-pin connectors whereas the 660 needs only one).

I didn't mention what's driving this desire to upgrade: I pre-ordered the new Tomb Raider game which is due to release on Mar 5th, and I want to take advantage of all the eye candy. :lol:
Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#6 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 16 February 2013 - 08:18 AM

View Postcompnovo, on 15 February 2013 - 12:13 PM, said:

View Postcoastie65, on 15 February 2013 - 10:27 AM, said:

View Postcompnovo, on 14 February 2013 - 05:00 PM, said:

View Postcoastie65, on 14 February 2013 - 04:04 PM, said:

View Postcompnovo, on 14 February 2013 - 01:44 PM, said:

Do you guys know anything about this card? I am STRONGLY considering an upgrade from my GTX 460 SE and the 660 looks like it hits the right price/performance balance. I like the PhysX feature so I'm not looking at AMD cards this time around.



Hey Comp. It should be fine. I'm not all that familiar with it as I am running the GTX 680.

I think the 660 is considered the poor man's version of your 680.
:lol:


I think tghere is a 660Ti as well. Either would be a huge step up from what you have now.

I briefly considered the "ti" version but it went a little too far out of my budget especially since, as you say, either would make a big difference. It looks like the new architecture is specifically designed for 1080p gaming, and is more energy efficient to boot (my old card uses two six-pin connectors whereas the 660 needs only one).

I didn't mention what's driving this desire to upgrade: I pre-ordered the new Tomb Raider game which is due to release on Mar 5th, and I want to take advantage of all the eye candy. :lol:


Ahhhh, now I see why. :lol: I usually play Tomb Raider on the PS3. My 680 is one 6 pin and one 8 pin connector ( I think; may be two 8 pin connectors ). :P I haven't preordered anything. I need to go back into the hospital for some open heart surgery ( bypass ).

This post has been edited by coastie65: 16 February 2013 - 08:19 AM

Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#7 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 16 February 2013 - 11:54 AM

View Postcoastie65, on 16 February 2013 - 08:18 AM, said:

I haven't preordered anything. I need to go back into the hospital for some open heart surgery ( bypass ).

Hey coastie, sorry to hear you have to go back in. Please keep us posted on your progress.
Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#8 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 16 February 2013 - 04:01 PM

View Postcompnovo, on 16 February 2013 - 11:54 AM, said:

View Postcoastie65, on 16 February 2013 - 08:18 AM, said:

I haven't preordered anything. I need to go back into the hospital for some open heart surgery ( bypass ).

Hey coastie, sorry to hear you have to go back in. Please keep us posted on your progress.


According to the surgeon, it will be for 5 - 7 days. Was hoping to avoid a bypass. At least I won't be completely opened up, or so he said. I'll try, but don't know if I'll have my laptop or not, or if I'll even feel like messing with it afterwards. May just rely on my phone.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#9 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 21 February 2013 - 04:44 PM

My new Galaxy GTX 660 arrived today and is humming along in my PC. I did a before and after with Batman: Arkham City using the built-in performance rating tool, and these are the results with everything dialed up to max:

Before: Min 7fps, Max 30fps, Average 26fps
After: Min 6fps, Max 59fps, Average 34fps

The 600 series cards have something called GPU boost which "dynamically maximizes clock speeds" and adaptive Vsync. Sounds good to me. :lol:
Another feature I like: My computer has never been so quiet.

This post has been edited by compnovo: 21 February 2013 - 04:44 PM

Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#10 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 23 February 2013 - 02:08 PM

View Postcompnovo, on 21 February 2013 - 04:44 PM, said:

My new Galaxy GTX 660 arrived today and is humming along in my PC. I did a before and after with Batman: Arkham City using the built-in performance rating tool, and these are the results with everything dialed up to max:

Before: Min 7fps, Max 30fps, Average 26fps
After: Min 6fps, Max 59fps, Average 34fps

The 600 series cards have something called GPU boost which "dynamically maximizes clock speeds" and adaptive Vsync. Sounds good to me. :lol:
Another feature I like: My computer has never been so quiet.


Ahhhh, I told you you would notice the difference. :lol: I have a game ( The Witcher 2 ) that is Graphics intense. On the GTX 560Ti it ran between 25 FPS up to maybe 70 FPS, With the GTX 680, it runs between 60 FPS and 120 FPS. Big jump that.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#11 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 23 February 2013 - 02:13 PM

Now I wonder - if you got a higher-res monitor to really put that 680 to the test, what kind of frame rates would you get? Come on, you know you want to. :lol:
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#12 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 23 February 2013 - 03:27 PM

View PostLiveBrianD, on 23 February 2013 - 02:13 PM, said:

Now I wonder - if you got a higher-res monitor to really put that 680 to the test, what kind of frame rates would you get? Come on, you know you want to. :lol:

Naw, I'm still really happy with my new monitor. Besides, with the default resolution I can max out the settings on the game. :lol:
Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#13 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 23 February 2013 - 03:31 PM

View Postcoastie65, on 23 February 2013 - 02:08 PM, said:

Ahhhh, I told you you would notice the difference. :lol: I have a game ( The Witcher 2 ) that is Graphics intense. On the GTX 560Ti it ran between 25 FPS up to maybe 70 FPS, With the GTX 680, it runs between 60 FPS and 120 FPS. Big jump that.

Ya think? :D
Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#14 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 23 February 2013 - 03:55 PM

View Postcompnovo, on 23 February 2013 - 03:27 PM, said:

View PostLiveBrianD, on 23 February 2013 - 02:13 PM, said:

Now I wonder - if you got a higher-res monitor to really put that 680 to the test, what kind of frame rates would you get? Come on, you know you want to. :lol:

Naw, I'm still really happy with my new monitor. Besides, with the default resolution I can max out the settings on the game. :lol:


I was referring to coastie. I guess it could apply to everyone though. Posted Image
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#15 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 23 February 2013 - 04:08 PM

View PostLiveBrianD, on 23 February 2013 - 03:55 PM, said:

View Postcompnovo, on 23 February 2013 - 03:27 PM, said:

View PostLiveBrianD, on 23 February 2013 - 02:13 PM, said:

Now I wonder - if you got a higher-res monitor to really put that 680 to the test, what kind of frame rates would you get? Come on, you know you want to. :lol:

Naw, I'm still really happy with my new monitor. Besides, with the default resolution I can max out the settings on the game. :lol:


I was referring to coastie. I guess it could apply to everyone though. Posted Image

Oops, didn't read your post closely enough. :D
Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#16 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 23 February 2013 - 05:47 PM

View PostLiveBrianD, on 23 February 2013 - 02:13 PM, said:

Now I wonder - if you got a higher-res monitor to really put that 680 to the test, what kind of frame rates would you get? Come on, you know you want to. :lol:


I would, but would have to get a bigger monitor and this 22" one just barely fits. I would need at least a 24" to get 1920x1080.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#17 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 23 February 2013 - 05:48 PM

View Postcompnovo, on 23 February 2013 - 03:31 PM, said:

View Postcoastie65, on 23 February 2013 - 02:08 PM, said:

Ahhhh, I told you you would notice the difference. :lol: I have a game ( The Witcher 2 ) that is Graphics intense. On the GTX 560Ti it ran between 25 FPS up to maybe 70 FPS, With the GTX 680, it runs between 60 FPS and 120 FPS. Big jump that.

Ya think? :D


Yup. :lol:
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#18 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 23 February 2013 - 07:47 PM

View Postcoastie65, on 23 February 2013 - 05:47 PM, said:

View PostLiveBrianD, on 23 February 2013 - 02:13 PM, said:

Now I wonder - if you got a higher-res monitor to really put that 680 to the test, what kind of frame rates would you get? Come on, you know you want to. :lol:


I would, but would have to get a bigger monitor and this 22" one just barely fits. I would need at least a 24" to get 1920x1080.


Actually, you can get 21.5" 1080p monitors. The only thing is that text might be a bit too small for you - the dpi is higher than on your 22" 1680x1050 display. (though scaling helps - also note that the dpi on a 21.5" 1080p display is just a little lower than on a 27" 2560x1440 display) I suppose once you get back from the hospital, you could make it a project to modify the desk so you can fit a bigger monitor on it.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#19 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 23 February 2013 - 09:26 PM

View Postcoastie65, on 23 February 2013 - 05:47 PM, said:

View PostLiveBrianD, on 23 February 2013 - 02:13 PM, said:

Now I wonder - if you got a higher-res monitor to really put that 680 to the test, what kind of frame rates would you get? Come on, you know you want to. :lol:


I would, but would have to get a bigger monitor and this 22" one just barely fits. I would need at least a 24" to get 1920x1080.

Are you restricted by the size of a cabinet coastie? It's common for 23" monitors to be 1080p these days, that was the size and resolution of my last monitor.

This post has been edited by compnovo: 23 February 2013 - 09:27 PM

Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#20 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 23 February 2013 - 10:07 PM

As I recall, from pictures, he has a shelf of some sort above the monitor, and then there are boards holding that up. (a bit hard to describe in words) There's barely enough width for the monitor he has right now.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users