Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Computer Restarts on Its Own

#1 User is offline   confusedinOtown 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 05 December 2007 - 07:56 PM

Hello all. I am very new to the computer diagnosing thing, even though my computer is somewhat ancient.

I have an HP Pavillion 753n, Pentium 4, running Windows XP home edition, and I have not changed any internal components. At the advise of a friend, and after running out of all other ideas, I recently used the system recovery to wipe out my computer. After it was done, everything seemed fine for a few days, although I didn't use it much. Then the computer restarted on its own.

Now, the HP blue screen comes up, followed by the Windows logo screen, and then you hear a small beep from the tower and the system restarts all on its own. I have tried starting in Safe Mode, and can get to the screen to select safe mode, but after I click enter, it restarts all over again. None ofthe other options onthat page seem to work either.

I can hear the fan running, and the tower is in a well ventilated area so I don't think its overheating.

Please help.

#2 User is offline   mphenterprises 

• Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 06 December 2007 - 01:28 AM

Hi Confused and welcome to PCWorld. :-)

First, I have renamed the Discussion so that every can immediately tell what your problem is. Just stating, "Help Please" really does not help us decipher your problem in any way.

Now, let's make sure we are on the same page. I have some questions for you: