PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Resident Evil 4, the d3dx9_30.dll error? - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Resident Evil 4, the d3dx9_30.dll error?

#1 User is offline   Kevin2703 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 30-November 08

Posted 30 November 2008 - 02:00 PM

Hi people.
I have just bought Resident Evil 4 for pc. When I today installed it and tried to run it, it say: Couldn't run the game. Couldn't find the file d3dx9_30.dll. Try to reinstall the game, it will problaly solve the problem.
But then I think. d3dx9_30.dll is a sound file there belongs to the file, Direct X 9.0 what is a sound folder and I don't have sound on my pc, so I think the problem is that If i don't have a sound program installed on my pc, I can't run the game... Is that true, or is it another problem there is hidding?
Please, If you know the answer, then tell me.
0

#2 User is offline   Flashorn 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4,709
  • Joined: 19-May 07
  • Location:Canada

Posted 30 November 2008 - 06:33 PM

Hey Kevin!!



Welcome to PCWorld Community!



I think DX9 has something to do with your sound but, It more than likely a

Image .dll. DX9 is part of Windows and interacts with your Graphics card.



To make sure that you have the DX9 in XP or DX10 in Vista , run the dxdiag test

This is a Diagnostic tool that is incorporated in both XP and Vista and will verify

that you have a working .dll. in both Display and Sound



To get to the dxdiag test in XP go to this site, to get a Full explanation on how to run

and fixe the dx9 in XP. Marc Liron updatexp.com .



Now , for Vista Mocrosoft Troubleshoot .



Here is another site that might just help out :

How to resolve D3dx9_30.dll not found error .



Hope this will help. If not post back and I will ask for the gamers of this site

to help out.



FLASHORN. !http://forums.pcworld.com/legacyimages/
1!
0

#3 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 30 November 2008 - 06:43 PM

Hi Kevin and welcome to the forum. You are missing a DX file. www.herinteractive.com/prod/FAQ/faq.php?action=artikel&cat=4&id=206&artlang=en Click on this link and read what it says and following the link there to download DX9. That should solve the problem. coastie65
0

#4 User is offline   Kevin2703 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 30-November 08

Posted 01 December 2008 - 11:32 AM

I have downloaded the newest version of Direct X 9.0 and I have extracted the d3dx9_30.dll file into the Resident Evil 4 folder and when I run it, this is showed:
Game.exe has found an error.
Report error - Don't report error
What shall I do? :s
0

#5 User is offline   piyushsingh 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,012
  • Joined: 21-July 07
  • Location:India

Posted 01 December 2008 - 11:41 AM

you never told us the OS you are using ?
0

#6 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 01 December 2008 - 11:55 AM

OK. You were supposed to be updating DirectX. Maybe this will be a little clearer on that. www.loki-game.com/forum-eng/viewtopic.php?p=4037

coastie
0

#7 User is offline   Kevin2703 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 30-November 08

Posted 01 December 2008 - 12:52 PM

Sorry I'm not geek, but what is OS?
0

#8 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 01 December 2008 - 12:56 PM

That is your operating system such as Windows 2000, XP, or Vista. coastie
0

#9 User is offline   Kevin2703 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 30-November 08

Posted 01 December 2008 - 01:21 PM

Okay, My OS is Windows XP. I have downloaded the Direct X 9.0c Driver and I have downloaded and installed the newest updates to the driver, but when I still try to run the game, it still say: Game.exe couldn't run. It might be an error.
What shall I do.? s:
0

#10 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 01 December 2008 - 01:30 PM

Ok. You downloaded and installed the latest update to DirectX. That's good. If I remember you said, that had initially extracted and put that missing file in your game file folder. That is not good as you may have corrupted the game installation when you did that. I would suggest that uninstall and reinstall the game, so as to have a clean installation. When uninstalling, you might get an option to keep whatever save files you may have, which should be okay. You do not need to manually extract and add DX files to the game as it will do all that stuff automatically on installation of the game. coastie
0

#11 User is offline   Kevin2703 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 30-November 08

Posted 01 December 2008 - 01:44 PM

Oh my GOD! It does still say: Game.exe has found a error. Sorry for the moment.
And I have reinstalled the Sh*t and it doesn't work!!!
Anyone who knows what I have to do? s:
0

#12 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 01 December 2008 - 02:11 PM

Hi Kevin, Ok, I need your system specs. Just look at my signature, and you'll know what I want. coastie
0

#13 User is offline   Kevin2703 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 30-November 08

Posted 02 December 2008 - 03:35 AM

Okay, but do you have a program for that? My computer is about 3 years old so I don't have the papirs on it. I know that it is a Fujitsu Siemens.... Windows XP... No sound installed yet... 2.4 GB Ram.... CD, DVD... I don't know the rest...
0

#14 User is offline   Flashorn 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4,709
  • Joined: 19-May 07
  • Location:Canada

Posted 02 December 2008 - 03:46 AM

Hey kevin!!



The program that we use to determine the contents of our PCs is

Belarc Advisor - Free Personal PC Audit . This will tell you

everything you need to know about what is inside your Box plus all of

the programs installed and all of the security updates for Windows.

It will also advise on the missing updates.



FLASHORN. !http://forums.pcworld.com/legacyimages/
1!
0

#15 User is offline   Kevin2703 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 30-November 08

Posted 02 December 2008 - 05:18 AM

What information do you have to know, coastie65? Just tell me what you have to know so I can get fixing this problem...
0

#16 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 02 December 2008 - 06:08 AM

Hi Kevin, As has been suggested, download, install, and run belarc advisor. It will give you the Processor, Memory, and Video information plus other stuff. You can get a good example, by looking at my signature. coastie
0

#17 User is offline   Flashorn 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4,709
  • Joined: 19-May 07
  • Location:Canada

Posted 02 December 2008 - 06:09 AM

Hey Kevin!!



If you downloaded the Belarc Advisor and ran it , It will have a report for you with all

of the info. that coastie wants to know.

Make or Brand of PC with the Number of the PC. NOT the serial # that should be located

at the back of the PC. The one in front . Like http://h20386.www2.hp.com/CanadaStore/Default.aspx
h1. HP Pavilion Elite m9450f PC



The CPU ( processor ) Intel P3 or AMD Athlon with the numbers assocaited with the processor.

The Graphics Card : nVidia or ATI with the name of the builder ( evga, asus , XFX , BFG ) .

The Audio Card or onboard audio ( Realtech ).

How much Memory ? 512 MB , 1 GB , 2 GB.

What is the power supply ? 350 watts , 400 watts , 500 watts.

What is the Operating System ? 2000 , XP , Vista.

What is the size of the Hard Drive ? 80 GBytes 100 GBytes 160 GigaBytes.



If you look in the Belarc Advisor report , you will find All of this information.



FLASHORN. !http://forums.pcworld.com/legacyimages/
1!
0

#18 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 02 December 2008 - 06:16 AM

Hey Flash, Thanks for the leg up. I have a ton of stuff in here and I'm afraid my answers are a bit short and incomplete. coastie
0

#19 User is offline   Flashorn 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4,709
  • Joined: 19-May 07
  • Location:Canada

Posted 02 December 2008 - 06:28 AM

Just giving the Mod a hand LOL!



FLASHORN. !http://forums.pcworld.com/legacyimages/
1!
0

#20 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 02 December 2008 - 06:35 AM

Gratefully Appreciated. :D
0

Share this topic:


  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users