|  RSS

PC World Forums: Do you know this site??legit?? - PC World Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Do you know this site??legit??

#1 User is offline   shenmedongxi4 Icon

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 09-December 08

Posted 09 December 2008 - 07:16 PM

Hi,I am a dvd fans,I want to buy star trek series,especially Star Trek the Next Generation complete seasons,but ebay is too expensive,I can not afford it,
I searched out a website named "dvdcollects" this monday..I want the sets very much,but still a little concern as I never bought from it before:(
0

#2 User is offline   Adama Icon

  • Veteran
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6,757
  • Joined: 07-September 07
  • Location:California

Posted 09 December 2008 - 07:20 PM

Have checked Amazon. com? Sometimes they have pretty good prices there.
0

#3 User is offline   AuroraDizon Icon

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6,060
  • Joined: 30-July 06
  • Location:These are not the droids your looking for.

Posted 10 December 2008 - 01:00 PM

You can always check with the better business bureau if nothing else google for legit opinion sites see if its known if you can't find much about it beware.
0

#4 User is offline   coastie65 Icon

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 10,334
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Richmond Va.

Posted 10 December 2008 - 01:07 PM

Hi and welcome to the forum. I usually get my DVD's from Amazon.com, and I may have seen them listed as a third part seller. Look for some reviews on the seller from past customers if you can find them. That is usually the best course of action. coastie65
0

#5 User is offline   Adama Icon

  • Veteran
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6,757
  • Joined: 07-September 07
  • Location:California

Posted 10 December 2008 - 01:52 PM

Hi again, Shenme,

Someone else talked about that website about a week or so ago, and she said had purchased a TV show set there and she liked it, but when I tried checking the link I couldn't get in (blocked by IE7 Pro.)

It's always good to go with a reputable website if you're going to enter your credit card info, IMO.
0

#6 User is offline   coastie65 Icon

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 10,334
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Richmond Va.

Posted 10 December 2008 - 01:58 PM

I was able to browse the site and found a couple of reviews. Both were positive and were happy with the purchase and the speed of delivery. Would have liked to have found some more. I have IE7. I don't know about IE7 Pro, sounds a bit too restrictive.
0

#7 User is offline   Adama Icon

  • Veteran
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6,757
  • Joined: 07-September 07
  • Location:California

Posted 10 December 2008 - 02:03 PM

Hi Coastie,

Yeah, IE7 Pro is a program that blocks banners, adverts, etc., from everywhere, specially my Yahoo email account. I actually like it much, much better than Ad Muncher.

But unline Ad Muncher, IE7 Pro is free.
0

#8 User is offline   coastie65 Icon

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 10,334
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Richmond Va.

Posted 10 December 2008 - 02:12 PM

Seeing as how I'm not particularly bothered by that stuff, I guess I'll stay with the less restrictive IE7. :D
0

#9 User is offline   snorg Icon

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,594
  • Joined: 28-November 07
  • Location:In the wild

Posted 10 December 2008 - 04:01 PM

I dont know that site.

BUT instead of paying megabucks for the DVDs, you can get a capture card and tape shows to your PC.
I tape shows off the dish like that, I got all trek episodes & movies like that.

Posted Image
0

#10 User is offline   techie4fun Icon

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,838
  • Joined: 18-October 06

Posted 13 December 2008 - 12:57 PM

DVD Collects seems a little frisky to me - I wouldn't go buying things from a no-named site.

Their web site is a little too flashy to earn my honesty. I don't like things that look TOO GOOD to be true.
0

#11 User is offline   coastie65 Icon

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 10,334
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Richmond Va.

Posted 13 December 2008 - 01:21 PM

It seems to be fine. It is a third party seller on amazon.com and I have not seen any negative reviews. I would probably purchase from them under certain circumstances ( Can't find else where or cheaper). coastie
0

#12 User is offline   ikus Icon

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 14-December 08

Posted 14 December 2008 - 04:16 PM

another way is when your at the site go to the checkout and look up where it has HTTP if it is a good site it will have HTTPS the S is for secure
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users