Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Running programs from one computer to another

#1 User is offline   dwallace 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 04 June 2009 - 07:33 AM

I am just getting started setting up a small network in our office. Since this is new to me I have a couple of issues before I get started. I purchased a wireless-N router and adaptors. I am only setting up two computers. My main question is we have a program that runs on one of the computers that is essential for our business. Windows XP is on both machines. Through the wireless network, can we run this program on the machine that doesn't have it installed or do we need to install the program on that machine also? Thanks.

#2 User is offline   smax013 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 04 June 2009 - 12:11 PM

dwallace said:

I am just getting started setting up a small network in our office. Since this is new to me I have a couple of issues before I get started. I purchased a wireless-N router and adaptors. I am only setting up two computers. My main question is we have a program that runs on one of the computers that is essential for our business. Windows XP is on both machines. Through the wireless network, can we run this program on the machine that doesn't have it installed or do we need to install the program on that machine also? Thanks.

It will likely depend on the program. Some "simple" program can do what you want with no "extra" work. On the other end of the spectrum, there are programs that are designed to run across networks and have kind of a "client"/"server" type setup.