• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

keylogger removal

#1 User is offline   crazy4laptops 

• Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 26 June 2009 - 07:12 PM

im flying a little blind here, but im looking for insight more than anything else

i am a system admin by day and a home computer tech/best friend by night

one home computer tech call i got was that a practical joke was played on one of my friends

one night a whole bunch of people were over at my friends house for dinner/ a party

there were pictures and slideshows running on the home computer... well someone thought it would be utterly hilarious to install a keylogger on the computer to see the inner details of my friend's life

a few days later the person that installed the keylogger came by with some private details that were only meant to be seen by the recipient's/family eyes

and that shocked my friend and hurt her too, so now her computer is absolutely useless for any private messaging or credit transactions

short from a re-install of Vista, UGH!!!! what can be done to disable or nuke a keylogger?

the keylogger is probably designed to be totally transparent to the user so it will be hard to find...

and the prankster said that the keystrokes were emailed to him by the program if that helps any on identifying the brand name of the keylogger

and it is probably a legitimate program, so spyware scanners probably wont pick it up

do you think running wireshark/a packet sniffer would reveal details about the keylogger?

would i be able to block ports/block the logger with vista's firewall if it isnt using port 80 or 443?

i might get lucky and be able to delete it out of program files... but i think the keylogger is deep in system32/system folder :P

anyways, this is just a musing at how to solve this problem without having to kidnap the prankster and chaining him to the desk until it gets removed

#2 User is offline   smax013 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip