PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Whats Your Pc Rating? - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Whats Your Pc Rating?

#1 User is offline   Rommel 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,233
  • Joined: 22-March 09

Posted 23 May 2010 - 02:18 PM

Hi all,

Shortly after going from my onborad grahics to a 5770 card I updated my pc performance check.
Don't know what MS bases its 7.9 max rating on but I am happy with my scores.
The rating is based on the lowest score, mine is 5.9 due to my HDDs.
They are in a RAID 0 so I guess I didn't make my best choice on that component.
My RAM is 7.8 so thats cool.

Also ran another 3D benchmark test. Wow, my first score with onboard GPU was terrible.
New card and some minor overcloacking you can see a big differrance in the bench scores.

I know alot of you guys have great systems, just curious how I rate compaired to your nice computers.

Its not apples to apples being we all have different configuration of parts but it would be interesting to see your results.

http://i18.photobuck...performance.jpg

http://i18.photobuck...3Dbenchmark.jpg

http://i18.photobuck...3Dbenchmark.jpg

Rommel
0

#2 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 27 May 2010 - 03:05 PM

View PostRommel, on 23 May 2010 - 02:18 PM, said:

Hi all,

Shortly after going from my onborad grahics to a 5770 card I updated my pc performance check.
Don't know what MS bases its 7.9 max rating on but I am happy with my scores.
The rating is based on the lowest score, mine is 5.9 due to my HDDs.
They are in a RAID 0 so I guess I didn't make my best choice on that component.
My RAM is 7.8 so thats cool.

Also ran another 3D benchmark test. Wow, my first score with onboard GPU was terrible.
New card and some minor overcloacking you can see a big differrance in the bench scores.

I know alot of you guys have great systems, just curious how I rate compaired to your nice computers.

Its not apples to apples being we all have different configuration of parts but it would be interesting to see your results.

http://i18.photobuck...performance.jpg

http://i18.photobuck...3Dbenchmark.jpg

http://i18.photobuck...3Dbenchmark.jpg

Rommel


Processor (Intel Core i5 750 2.67GHz): 6.9
RAM (4GB DDR3): 7.1
Graphics (MSI Nvidia Geforce 210): 4.7
Gaming Graphics: 5.6
HDD (WD Caviar Black 640GB): 5.9

I think my 5.9 HDD score might be due to it being a spinning hard disk, but the black (faster) one of the WD Caviar series.

What are your specs?

This post has been edited by LiveBrianD: 27 May 2010 - 03:06 PM

Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#3 User is offline   Rommel 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,233
  • Joined: 22-March 09

Posted 27 May 2010 - 05:19 PM

View PostLiveBrianD, on 27 May 2010 - 03:05 PM, said:

Processor (Intel Core i5 750 2.67GHz): 6.9
RAM (4GB DDR3): 7.1
Graphics (MSI Nvidia Geforce 210): 4.7
Gaming Graphics: 5.6
HDD (WD Caviar Black 640GB): 5.9

I think my 5.9 HDD score might be due to it being a spinning hard disk, but the black (faster) one of the WD Caviar series.

What are your specs?


Hi LiveBrianD and thank you for your reply.

My specs are,

Asus mobo M4A78T-E
His 5770 IceQ Turbo (oc version) 7.4
Gaming graphics are the same 7.4
OCZ AMD Black Edition 1600 CAS7 8GBs 7.8
Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition Cellisto 3.1 3535 OC (unlocked 2 cores and harshly stress tested with Intel Burn) 7.3
WD HDDs 2 ea in a RAID 0 config. SATA 3Gb/S 7200 8mb buffer. ( doesn't specify nothing more than I described, model cavier WD3200AAJS) 5.9

I was wondering if I should had got a black edition WD with 32mb buffer.
I see your black edition is a cavier series, think mine is?
This is it, http://www.zipzoomfl...prodlist=search

What are the details of your specs, like RAM?

Thanks,
Rommel






0

#4 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 27 May 2010 - 07:02 PM

Hi Rommel,
Here are my ratings:
Processor (Athlon II X4 620 2.6GHz) = 7.2
Memory (4GB DDR3 1333) = 7.3
Graphics (Sapphire Radeon HD 5770) = 7.4
Gaming Graphics = 7.4
Primary Hard Disk (Hitachi 500GB) = 5.9
Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#5 User is offline   Rommel 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,233
  • Joined: 22-March 09

Posted 28 May 2010 - 11:00 AM

View Postcompnovo, on 27 May 2010 - 07:02 PM, said:

Hi Rommel,
Here are my ratings:
Processor (Athlon II X4 620 2.6GHz) = 7.2
Memory (4GB DDR3 1333) = 7.3
Graphics (Sapphire Radeon HD 5770) = 7.4
Gaming Graphics = 7.4
Primary Hard Disk (Hitachi 500GB) = 5.9


We are so close to identical except RAM.
Another 5.9 HDD score.

Any 10,000 RPM HDD ppl out there?
Or Solid state?

Rommel
0

#6 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 28 May 2010 - 04:28 PM

View PostRommel, on 27 May 2010 - 05:19 PM, said:

My specs are,

Asus mobo M4A78T-E
His 5770 IceQ Turbo (oc version) 7.4
Gaming graphics are the same 7.4
OCZ AMD Black Edition 1600 CAS7 8GBs 7.8
Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition Cellisto 3.1 3535 OC (unlocked 2 cores and harshly stress tested with Intel Burn) 7.3
WD HDDs 2 ea in a RAID 0 config. SATA 3Gb/S 7200 8mb buffer. ( doesn't specify nothing more than I described, model cavier WD3200AAJS) 5.9

I was wondering if I should had got a black edition WD with 32mb buffer.
I see your black edition is a cavier series, think mine is?
This is it, http://www.zipzoomfl...prodlist=search

What are the details of your specs, like RAM?

Thanks,
Rommel

RAM: DDR3 1333MHz 2x2GB
CPU: Intel Core i5 (Lynnfield, 750) 2.67GHz, using stock Intel cooler
MSI branded 512MB Nvidia GeForce 210

By the way, yours is a Caviar Blue Drive (Speedy Black Blue Green Energy-Efficient).
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#7 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 28 May 2010 - 05:17 PM

Hey Rommel, I'm running Vista and Vista's runs from 1 to 5.9. This is mine ( My Gateway Lappy checks in at 3.9 ):

Posted Image

This post has been edited by coastie65: 28 May 2010 - 05:31 PM

Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#8 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 29 May 2010 - 02:12 PM

I'll assume this is on your i7 PC.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#9 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 29 May 2010 - 03:38 PM

View PostLiveBrianD, on 29 May 2010 - 02:12 PM, said:

I'll assume this is on your i7 PC.



Yeah. As I said Vista only rates from 1 to 5.9. Win7's scale is higher. I added a WD Caviar Black 1 TB hdd, but I am running on the Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb. Both your WD and My Seagate came in at 5.9, so I guess that is pretty much the norm for the Hdd thing.

This post has been edited by coastie65: 29 May 2010 - 03:42 PM

Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#10 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 30 May 2010 - 01:59 PM

View Postcoastie65, on 29 May 2010 - 03:38 PM, said:

Yeah. As I said Vista only rates from 1 to 5.9. Win7's scale is higher. I added a WD Caviar Black 1 TB hdd, but I am running on the Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb. Both your WD and My Seagate came in at 5.9, so I guess that is pretty much the norm for the Hdd thing.


I suppose Windows probably has a limit on scores for spinning hard disks, since I have Windows 7 and some of my other scores are 6 or 7s.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

#11 User is offline   byronlewis 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 14-June 10

Posted 14 June 2010 - 09:03 PM

Here is mine:

Custom made

Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Quad core 3.4GHz Black Edition AM3 2000MHz Bus speed with a 2 MB L2 cache and a 6 MB L3 cache

Motherboard: Asus M4N78 Pro

RAM: OCZ 4GB DDR2-800MHz Dual channel PC6400

Hard Drive: All I can remember about it is that it is 500GB

Video Card: BFG Gforce 9800 GT, not overclocked

Operating system: Windows XP 32 Bit and 64 Bit
0

#12 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 14 June 2010 - 09:15 PM

Funny coincidence that this thread was resurrected, I was doing a little research earlier today and the popular theory in a lot of forums is that the only way to get above 5.9 with your hard drive is with an SSD. Tempting but still a little too spendy for me just to get bragging rights.
Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#13 User is offline   Rommel 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,233
  • Joined: 22-March 09

Posted 15 June 2010 - 10:01 AM

View Postcompnovo, on 14 June 2010 - 09:15 PM, said:

Funny coincidence that this thread was resurrected, I was doing a little research earlier today and the popular theory in a lot of forums is that the only way to get above 5.9 with your hard drive is with an SSD. Tempting but still a little too spendy for me just to get bragging rights.



@ compnovo,
Thats part of what I became curious about. 5.9 was our tops. My raid 0 was no higher.
Maybe how windows looks at components it doesn't take that into conciderstion?

I'm with, that upgrade is down the road.

@ Coastie,
Your laptop is rated higher than my HP. Perhaps nearly everyone elses for that matter.
W7 has issues with my intergrated graphics so it rates it a "1".
It performs better than a 1 but thats its score.

Rommel
0

#14 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 15 June 2010 - 10:15 AM

I don't have my netbook with me but I can tell you that its rating is in the basement, yet it still does everything a netbook should do very nicely. Those numbers are a nice point of reference but I don't think they should be taken too seriously. Of course, I can say this now that I've upgraded my desktop :lol: .
Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users