PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Internet Explorer... - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Internet Explorer...

#1 User is offline   DimplesAkaKaren 

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 69
  • Joined: 14-December 11
  • Location:Here In Illinois

Posted 20 December 2011 - 01:00 PM

When I go to Start Up, why do I see Internet Explorer and Internet Explorer 64 Bit?

Do I need both? If so, what's the purpose of two? If not, which one can I delete?
0

#2 User is offline   compnovo 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,227
  • Joined: 18-October 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 20 December 2011 - 01:07 PM

View PostDimplesAkaKaren, on 20 December 2011 - 01:00 PM, said:

When I go to Start Up, why do I see Internet Explorer and Internet Explorer 64 Bit?

Do I need both? If so, what's the purpose of two? If not, which one can I delete?

From what I've read IE 64-bit can't use all of the plug-ins that the 32-bit version can, so MS gives you the option. I unpinned the 64-bit version from the Start menu, but it's just a matter of personal preference.
Core i7 4771 - Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 - 250GB Samsung 840 SSD - 2TB Toshiba HDD - PNY GTX760 - 16GB G.Skill Ares 1333 - Corsair Carbide 200R - Corsair 600w - Win8.1 Pro 64-bit
0

#3 User is offline   DimplesAkaKaren 

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 69
  • Joined: 14-December 11
  • Location:Here In Illinois

Posted 20 December 2011 - 01:21 PM

View Postcompnovo, on 20 December 2011 - 01:07 PM, said:

View PostDimplesAkaKaren, on 20 December 2011 - 01:00 PM, said:

When I go to Start Up, why do I see Internet Explorer and Internet Explorer 64 Bit?

Do I need both? If so, what's the purpose of two? If not, which one can I delete?

From what I've read IE 64-bit can't use all of the plug-ins that the 32-bit version can, so MS gives you the option. I unpinned the 64-bit version from the Start menu, but it's just a matter of personal preference.



Ahhhh...ok. It's actually under All Programs. I should just leave it there?
0

#4 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,651
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 20 December 2011 - 01:30 PM

Won't hurt anything.
Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#5 User is offline   LiveBrianD 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12,210
  • Joined: 31-December 09
  • Location:::1

Posted 20 December 2011 - 01:36 PM

Right now, there really is no use for 64-bit Internet Exploder, so just ignore that one. It can access more ram, but has fewer addons, and the ram thing isn't an issue for the regular version (32-bit) anyway.
Spoiler
"The Internet will be used for all kinds of spurious things, including fake quotes from smart people." -Albert Einstein
Need a Windows ISO image?
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users