PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Emachines Acts Weird After Boot Sequence. - PCWorld Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Emachines Acts Weird After Boot Sequence.

#1 User is offline   Dominican1 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 27 November 2009 - 11:44 AM

Man am I useless with PCs. A friend bought a new computer and gave me his emachines ET1161-05 Tower (with Vista, AMD Athlon Processor, 160 GB Hard Drive and 2GB DDRs Memory). Every time I try to turn on the computer, it would boot normally (emachines screen appears, then windows). After about 20-30 seconds, the computer would turn off on it's own(no shut down, completely off). I tried installing XP to see if the OS was corrupted, but it still turns off. Sometimes the PC would turn on on it's own, then turn off ten seconds later. This would happen maybe 10-15 times a day.

I have some computer knowledge, but not enough to know what's happening. Please help me, anyone!!!!! Thanks.

#2 User is offline   rgreen4 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators

Posted 27 November 2009 - 12:00 PM

View PostDominican1, on 27 November 2009 - 11:44 AM, said:

Man am I useless with PCs. A friend bought a new computer and gave me his emachines ET1161-05 Tower (with Vista, AMD Athlon Processor, 160 GB Hard Drive and 2GB DDRs Memory). Every time I try to turn on the computer, it would boot normally (emachines screen appears, then windows). After about 20-30 seconds, the computer would turn off on it's own(no shut down, completely off). I tried installing XP to see if the OS was corrupted, but it still turns off. Sometimes the PC would turn on on it's own, then turn off ten seconds later. This would happen maybe 10-15 times a day.

I have some computer knowledge, but not enough to know what's happening. Please help me, anyone!!!!! Thanks.

When you installed XP did you format the hard drive or use a second drive?