Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Home Theatre Online pc - home theatre

#1 User is offline   ugyuap 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 10 February 2010 - 03:37 PM

Hi newbie here , my name is Kurt and like to have some info. I do have a home theatre :PTAE4000 panasonic projector and a SA-XR57 panasonic receiver.Now I like to add a PC or Laptop to browes the internet and enjoy super sound and video, but don't know what specs I am shooting for.
The Home theatre is HDMI ready.Is adding a blue ray player in the pc possible?
Can somebody throw some light on this.

Thanks in advance !!

Kurt

#2 User is offline   LincolnSpector 

• Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 11 February 2010 - 09:00 AM

Hi, Kurt. Welcome to the forum.

You'll want a PC with an HDMI output, but that shouldn't be a problem these days. Aside from netbooks, I think they're pretty standard.

And you'll want Windows 7 Home Premium or Ultimate.

I'm not sure how fast a PC you'll need for watching HD decently. I'd imagine that a moderately-priced desktop would do, but I'm not sure, off-hand.

About a Blu-ray drive: Again, I'm not sure if it's a real advantage over a stand-alone player. Certainly the stand-alone player will turn on faster and will have less hassles. Also, a lot of today's BD players offer Youtube, Netflix On Demand, and other online video services, meaning you may not even need a PC.

You can also use a PC as a DVR, although you'll need a TV tuner for that. There are several available, many as USB attachments. The software is part of Home Premium and Ultimate.

One more thing: A remote control. Again, several are available.

Lincoln

#3 User is offline   jeffwindowsteam 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 11 February 2010 - 11:03 AM

View Postugyuap, on 10 February 2010 - 03:37 PM, said: