PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: Question About Memory - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Question About Memory

#1 User is offline   cbs326 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 26-July 10

Posted 26 July 2010 - 07:59 PM

About 6 years ago I built my own computer and I was hoping to get with a question I have. I used pc3200 with 2 512gb chips on a motherboard with a AMD FX-5300 chip. I am looking to add more memory preferably at least 2 gb. Can I mix the memory and or manufactures or should I just buy 2 1GB chips. Also there are 4 slots in the motherboard I thought I remembered there had to be an even quantity filled. Is that true?
0

#2 User is offline   Flashorn 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4,709
  • Joined: 19-May 07
  • Location:Canada

Posted 26 July 2010 - 08:16 PM

View Postcbs326, on 26 July 2010 - 07:59 PM, said:

About 6 years ago I built my own computer and I was hoping to get with a question I have. I used pc3200 with 2 512gb chips on a motherboard with a AMD FX-5300 chip. I am looking to add more memory preferably at least 2 gb. Can I mix the memory and or manufactures or should I just buy 2 1GB chips. Also there are 4 slots in the motherboard I thought I remembered there had to be an even quantity filled. Is that true?



Hey cbs !!

Welcome to PCWorld Community !

It is always preferable to run identical sticks of ram. In your case, the Four Slots might well mean that
they won't accept anything more than a 512 stick in each slot to equal the 2 Gig capacity.

An easy way to find out would be to run the scan from Crucial.com. This scan will tell you exactly what
is nneded in each slot and at what speed : http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/


FLASHORN.
Posted Image Posted Image

Posted Image

Eurocom Scorpius: 3840QM-2.8 GHz-Ivy Bridge ; ATI 7970M Crossfire ; Intel SSD 520 series 480GB ; Seagate Momentus XT 750 GB,7200RPM ; 16 GB Corsair Vengeance 9 9 9 24 ; Sound Blaster X-Fi MB2 ; THX True Studio Pro.

Patience is Life.
1

#3 User is offline   cbs326 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 26-July 10

Posted 26 July 2010 - 08:28 PM

Thank you very much for the answer. Great website.
0

#4 User is offline   Flashorn 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4,709
  • Joined: 19-May 07
  • Location:Canada

Posted 26 July 2010 - 08:35 PM

View Postcbs326, on 26 July 2010 - 08:28 PM, said:

Thank you very much for the answer. Great website.



Hey cbs !!

It's our pleasure.

When you run the scan , make sure to scroll down a bit for possible alternatives


FLASHORN.
Posted Image Posted Image

Posted Image

Eurocom Scorpius: 3840QM-2.8 GHz-Ivy Bridge ; ATI 7970M Crossfire ; Intel SSD 520 series 480GB ; Seagate Momentus XT 750 GB,7200RPM ; 16 GB Corsair Vengeance 9 9 9 24 ; Sound Blaster X-Fi MB2 ; THX True Studio Pro.

Patience is Life.
0

#5 User is offline   waldojim 

  • Elite
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,412
  • Joined: 29-October 08
  • Location:Texas

Posted 27 July 2010 - 11:27 PM

As that is an AMD 64 board, it would be safe to assume at least 4GB compatibility. The only concern I would voice, is that of the chipset. Some of the older chipsets would limit the speed of the ram if you populate all 4 slots. This could actually hurt your performance quite a bit. For the easiest upgrade method that works more often than not, I would suggest grabbing 2x 1GB sticks as you mentioned above. This will ensure maximum compatibility.
"There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" -- Isaac Asimov

Steam Machine: MSI 970A-G46, AMD Phenom 955 @ 4.0Ghz, 8GB Gskill ram @1600mhz, 128GB Plextor M5s, EVGA GTX 550Ti
Laptop: Alienware 14, Intel i7-4700MQ, 8GB DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTX 765M 4GB DDR5, Plextor M3 256GB SSD, 1080P IPS display, Killer GigE, Killer 1202 wifi
Hackintosh: Gigabyte H61m-HD2, Celeron G1610, 4GB Patriot ram @1333Mhz, Asus GT210, WD 1TB Black, Silverstone ES50 500watt PSU, OS-X Mountain Liion
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users