PCWorld Forums

PCWorld Forums: No Standby Mode - PCWorld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

No Standby Mode minor irritation

#1 User is offline   Knifeblade 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,045
  • Joined: 05-April 07
  • Location:MI

Posted 25 August 2010 - 12:29 PM

When I go to shutdown, the Standby icon is blank, which I'd like to get back. MS is of very little useful help. I have a feeling I disabled something, it used to be there. Anyone have a path for me to try to find how to enable it?

Thanks much, it's minor, but I find it really useful at times. I run XP Home, SP2, on a Dell Dimension 2400, if that's useful.

This post has been edited by Knifeblade: 25 August 2010 - 12:31 PM

I refuse to take no for an answer~~~~~~~~~But I enjoy making them say Yes~~~~~~~~~~~Tam a.k.a. Attack Pig

Gateway DX4380G, AMD A6 5400K DualCore @ 3.8MHz, 6GB DDR3 1600, Integrated AMD HD 7540D graphics using Microsoft 8.1 64-bit with Dx11. 1TB 5200 HDD.
0

#2 User is offline   crazy4laptops 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,169
  • Joined: 20-November 07
  • Location:USA

Posted 25 August 2010 - 04:26 PM

View PostKnifeblade, on 25 August 2010 - 12:29 PM, said:

When I go to shutdown, the Standby icon is blank, which I'd like to get back. MS is of very little useful help. I have a feeling I disabled something, it used to be there. Anyone have a path for me to try to find how to enable it?

Thanks much, it's minor, but I find it really useful at times. I run XP Home, SP2, on a Dell Dimension 2400, if that's useful.


Usually when standby is not available, its a driver that is not installed... the driver or hardware in question is usually system bus or chipset

Check your device manager and see if there's anything with a yellow exclamation point

start > run > type 'devicemgmt.msc' (no quotes) and hit enter
Even the experts started out as beginners
0

#3 User is offline   coastie65 

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 20,650
  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location:Henrico, Va.

Posted 25 August 2010 - 04:28 PM

To be precise, Graphics drivers. They need to be installed. If they are uninstall them and then reinstall them.

This post has been edited by coastie65: 25 August 2010 - 04:28 PM

Coolermaster HAF 912 Case....ASUS Z87Pro MOBO.....Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell ( OC'd to 4.6 Ghz ) .... Gelid Tranquillo cooler.... Samsung 830 256 GB SSD.... Primary HDD- WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA III /6.0 .... SECONDARY HDD - WD 1TB Caviar Black SATA II / 3.0....16Gb GSkill Ripjaws Series X 2133 Mhz Memory....Corsair AX850w PSU....EVGA GTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Gb GDDR5 Video Card....Samsung CD/DVD RW, DL, DVD-Ram, w/ Lightscribe Optical Drive....Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX 22" Monitor..... Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS




______________________________________________________________

Gateway FX6800-01e----Intel Core i7 960 ( 3.2 GHz)---- Seagate Barracuda 750 Gb SATA II / 3.0 Hdd---- 6 Gb Crucial 1066 Mhz memory, running in Tri Channel conf-----Corsair TX650w PSU----- EVGA Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1gb GDDR5 Vram ----DVD +/- RW / CD ,RAM/DL Optical drive w/ Label Flash-----Gateway TBGM-01 Motherboard.... Vista Home Premium 64 bit OS w/ SP2; Samsung Synch Master 2243BWX 22" Monitor.
0

#4 User is offline   AgentF 

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 856
  • Joined: 22-March 10
  • Location:localhost

Posted 25 August 2010 - 06:00 PM

Also, check for power management options in the BIOS. This article by Microsoft may be helpful.
Would you be interested in contributing to the PCWorld Wiki?

Learn how to edit pages and even create new ones.
0

#5 User is offline   Knifeblade 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,045
  • Joined: 05-April 07
  • Location:MI

Posted 25 August 2010 - 07:15 PM

Thanks, I'll delve into device manager and see if i find anything, I think you guys are right, I likely disabled some driver.
I refuse to take no for an answer~~~~~~~~~But I enjoy making them say Yes~~~~~~~~~~~Tam a.k.a. Attack Pig

Gateway DX4380G, AMD A6 5400K DualCore @ 3.8MHz, 6GB DDR3 1600, Integrated AMD HD 7540D graphics using Microsoft 8.1 64-bit with Dx11. 1TB 5200 HDD.
0

#6 User is offline   Ritergal 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: 14-October 08

Posted 25 September 2010 - 08:16 AM

I don't have a continuing problem with this, but now and then I'll find my screen brightly lit first thing in the morning or after a prolonged time away from my desk. One cause I've found is leaving certain programs open. The one I know for sure clogs it up is leaving a PowerPoint slide show open. That's a good thing because it leaves the image up on the screen if I get carried away and talk a long time between slide changes.

I haven't been able to pinpoint the others but am working on it.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users