Quantcast
PC World
You are not logged in, click here to log in.
7 Replies Last post: Aug 23, 2007 9:34 AM by mphenterprises  
Click to view PCWorld's profile PCW News Bot 18,926 posts since
Aug 1, 2007
Reply

Aug 16, 2007 6:15 AM

Greetings! Someone has sent you an e-card virus

Post your comments for Greetings! Someone has sent you an e-card virus here
Reply
Click to view gundark's profile New Member 57 posts since
Aug 18, 2006
1. Aug 16, 2007 7:16 AM in response to: PCWorld
Greetings! Someone Has Sent You an E-Card Virus
Unfortunately, there are always new users out there who have not heard of these types of attacks before. That's who these guys are preying on.
Click to view dacohenz's profile New Member 127 posts since
Aug 29, 2006
2. Aug 16, 2007 10:43 AM in response to: PCWorld
I've had thais email sent to me numerous times, I even wrote an article at work warning our end users about this type of email.


Dave
www.davescomputerserv.com
Click to view rega451's profile New Member 5 posts since
Feb 14, 2007
3. Aug 17, 2007 1:12 PM in response to: PCWorld
I messed Up!
Just for the record, I inadvertently voted no to this article. I meant to vote YES. It a very informative.

I wonder if the major e-card companies have a plan to sue these slugs if they can ever catch them.
Click to view cyclelogicpress's profile New Member 7 posts since
Jul 14, 2007
4. Aug 19, 2007 12:48 PM in response to: PCWorld
Greetings! Someone Has Sent You an E-Card Virus
My favorite is "You have received an e-card from a worshiper."
Click to view Mrfixit's profile New Member 2 posts since
Aug 20, 2007
5. Aug 20, 2007 4:51 AM in response to: PCWorld
Greetings! Someone has sent you an e-card virus
I live in Sweden and have had some 20 examples of this type of email in the last 2 weeks.

The latest type of email that I have got is one purporting to be from the "Postmaster purporting to report an email that I have sent could not be delivered. When you view the contents if the email thier is no reference at all to anything you have sent. I am guessing that this will be the form of the next lot of bogus emails.
Click to view Vince114's profile New Member 3 posts since
Jul 4, 2007
6. Aug 23, 2007 9:13 AM in response to: PCWorld
Greetings! Someone Has Sent You an E-Card Virus
Now they are using a NEW SCAM. I just received this message entitled "Login Verification." The URL is a download site with no ID: 68.191.240.22.

New Member,

Here is your membership info for CoolPics.

Member Number: 423788123
Your Login ID: user1497
Temorary Password: yu408

Your temporary Login Info will expire in 24 hours. Please login and change it.

This link will allow you to securely change your login info: CoolPics

Welcome,
Internet Support
CoolPics
Click to view mphenterprises's profile Member Moderators 8,757 posts since
Feb 19, 2007
7. Aug 23, 2007 9:36 AM in response to: Vince114
Re: Greetings! Someone Has Sent You an E-Card Virus
I just do not understand why this concept is so hard to grasp. If a person does not recognize the email address or the subject line seems too ambiguous, don't open it. I guess I am a bit blind to the fact that it may be obvious to me and everyone that is within the technology field but this just boggles my mind.

Also, there are so many security applications that scan incoming and outgoing email for viruses. There are also applications that will sort email into specified folders and disable the hyperlinks within the email until the user decides that the email is safe.


This is my personal Dream PC: http://forums.pcworld.com/blogs/mphenterprises/2007/12/21/my-gift-to-myself

Visit other IDG sites: